
 
Leading Collision Descriptions of Teenage-Driver Crashes (Utah 2005) 
 
All Teenage Driver Crashes   Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Rear End (34.5%)    1. Single Vehicle Rollover (28.6%) 
2. Broadside (26.8%)    2. Head-On (19.0%) 
3. Side Swipe (5.9%)    3. Broadside (19.0%) 

• Overall, most teenage-driver crashes were rear-end (34.5%) or broadside (26.8%) collisions. 
• For fatal teenage-driver crashes, single vehicle rollovers (28.6%), head-on (19.0%), and broadside 

(19.0%) were the leading collision types. 
• Head-on collisions involving teenage drivers were 29 times more likely, and single vehicle rollovers 

involving teenage drivers were 10 times more likely to be fatal than other collision types. 

Top 5 Driving Factors that Contributed to Teenage-Driver Crashes (Utah 2005)   
All Teenage Driver Crashes   Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Improper Lookout (26.1%)   1. Speed Too Fast (23.6%) 
2. Failed to Yield Right-of-Way (15.5%)  2. Other Improper Driving (16.4%) 
3. Followed Too Closely (15.2%)  3. Drove Left of Center (12.7%) 
4. Speed Too Fast (11.4%)   4. Fatigued or Asleep (9.1%) 
5. Other Improper Driving (8.3%)  5. Improper Lookout (9.1%) 

• Overall, “improper lookout” was the leading contributing factor for all teenage-driver crashes (26.1%). 
• “Speed too fast” accounted for approximately one-quarter (23.6%) of the fatal teenage-driver crashes. 
• Drowsy driving was also a significant contributing factor of fatal teenage-driver crashes.  “Fatigued” or 

“asleep” accounted for 9.1% of fatal teenage-driver crashes. 

SLOW 

• Crashes where the teenage-driven vehicle 
contained four or more occupants were 5 times 
more likely to be fatal than crashes involving 
teenage-driven vehicles with fewer occupants. 

Is it Dangerous for Teens to  
Drive with Friends? 
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Not Injured Injured Killed

• 3 out of 5 teen drivers and their passengers, 
(61.1%) killed in crashes, were unbelted. 

• Teen drivers and their passengers, that didn’t 
buckle up, were 36 times more likely than 
belted occupants to be killed in a crash. 

Did you know that in 2005 . . . 
 
• Teenage drivers represented 7.4% of the licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were 

involved in over one-quarter (26.8%) of all motor vehicle crashes. 
• Teenage drivers (aged 15-19 years) were involved in 14,701 motor vehicle crashes which 

resulted in 9,711 injured persons, and 53 fatalities. 
• Approximately 1 out of 6 (17.9%) fatal crashes in Utah involved a teenage driver. 
• A teenage-driver crash occurred in Utah every 36 minutes. 

TEENAGE DRIVERS (15-19 YEARS) 

Did the Teen Drivers and Their 
Passengers Buckle Up? 
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Graduated Driver Licensing Law 
 
A graduated driver licensing law was enacted to address the concern of teenage driving and crashes.  Graduated 
licensing regulations are in place for new drivers under the age of 18 years and not previously licensed in another state. 
First-time teenage drivers who apply for a drivers license in Utah must complete the following three steps to obtain a 
license:  
Step 1.  Obtain an instruction permit, which allows driving with a certified driving instructor, complete a driver education 
course and pass a written exam.  
Step 2.  After reaching age 15 years 9 months, obtain a practice permit which requires driving with a parent, guardian, or 
licensed over 21-year-old, and complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving (at least 10 hours after dark).  
Step 3.  Complete a driving test (or tests) and obtain a provisional (under 21 years) “D” (passenger vehicle), or 
“M” (passenger vehicle plus motorcycle) license.  The provisional license shows “under 21,“ has a distinctive color, and 
allows a lower threshold of points/citations before sanctioning compared to regular licenses. 
 
Night-time Restrictions 
 
Anyone under the age of 17 years may not drive from midnight to 5:00 am except: 1) with an over-21-year-old licensed 
driver; 2) for employment, or going to or from employment; 3) going to or from a religious or a school activity; 4) in a 
supervised agricultural operation; or 5) in an emergency. 
 
Passenger Restrictions 
 
For the first six months of licensure, teenage drivers can only drive other teens if there is an over-21-year-old driver in 
the front passenger seat of the vehicle.  Teenage drivers can drive themselves or family members without this restriction. 
 
Exceptions:  Teenage drivers can drive teenage occupants to or from school, school activities, church activities, or 
agricultural work if he/she has a signed note from his/her parent or guardian. 
 
Seatbelt Restrictions 
 
All occupants under the age of 19 years must be properly restrained in a motor vehicle.  This is a primary law which 
means a person may be stopped by a law enforcement officer solely for that offense.   
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Time of Day Teenage-Driver Crashes Occurred (Utah 2005) 

• Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours (2:00 pm to 6:00 pm).  
• Another small peak occurred when teenage drivers were most likely going to school (7:00 am). 

Counties with the Highest Percentage of Teenage-Driver Crashes (Utah 2005) 

 
County 

All  
Crashes 

Teen Driver  
Crashes 

% Involving  
Teen Drivers 

 
County 

All  
Crashes 

Teen Driver 
Crashes 

% Involving  
Teen Drivers 

Sanpete 287 99 34.5% Utah 8,697 2,582 29.7% 

Davis 4,322 1,401 32.4% Washington 2,544 750 29.5% 

Cache 1,972 628 31.8% Morgan 163 45 27.6% 

Weber 4,550 1,369 30.1% Statewide 54,938 14,701 26.8% 
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