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2009 Utah Crash Facts 

Wearing a seat belt is one of the 
best ways to decrease injuries and 
deaths in motor vehicle crashes. 
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The highest percentage of unrestrained crash 
occupants were 85+ and 10-24 years. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Age 
(Utah 2009) 

Occupants in rural crashes were 1.7 times more 
likely to be unrestrained than urban occupants. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by County 
(Utah 2009) 
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 Protection 

Did you know in 2009: 

Unrestrained crash occupants were 32 times more likely to die in a crash than restrained occupants. 

An estimated 109 lives were saved because of restraint use. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) 

While overall traffic deaths decreased the number of unrestrained occupant deaths increased 17%. 
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11:00 p.m. to 4:59 a.m. had the highest 
percentage of unrestrained crash occupants. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by Hour 
(Utah 2009) 
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Restraint Use by Injury Severity (Utah 2009) 

Over 96% of persons who survived a crash 
were restrained compared to less than half 
(47%) of the persons killed. 
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The older the child the less likely they were using a child 
safety seat. 
While 90% of children 0-1 years in a crash were in a child 
safety seat, only 71% of 4-year-olds, 43% of 6-year-olds, 
and 11% of 8-year-olds were in a child safety seat. 
The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8 
years is concerning and indicates that children are moving 
to adult-sized seat belts too early.  

Percent of Children Aged 0-8 Years in Crashes Using 
Child Safety Seats (Utah 2009) 

Child Safety Seat Recommendations: 

Infants should be placed in a rear-facing 
safety seat until they are at least 20 
pounds and 1 year of age. 

Never place a rear-facing child safety 
seat in the front seat of a vehicle with a 
passenger side air bag. 

Children at least 1 year of age weighing 
20-40 pounds should ride in forward 
facing child safety seats. 

Older children (approximately 4-8 years 
of age) should ride in belt-positioning 
booster seats until they are 4’9” tall and 
the seat belt fits properly. Booster seats 
help position an adult-size seat belt for 
a safer fit on children. 

The safest place for any child aged 12 

and under is in the back seat of the 
vehicle. 

 
Seat Belt Recommendations: 

Always use both the lap and shoulder 
belt. When worn properly, the shoulder 
belt should fit across the collar bone 
and the lap belt should fit low over the 
hips. 

Never place the shoulder strap under 
the arm or behind the back. 

 
Safety Restraint Laws: 

Utah law requires all motor vehicle 

occupants to wear a seat belt. This is a 
secondary enforcement law for drivers 
and passengers age 19 years and 
older. This means an adult may be 
issued a citation and a $45 fine only 
when the police officer has stopped the 
vehicle for another reason. 

The law is a primary enforcement law 
for drivers and passengers under age 
19 years. 

Children age 7 years and under must 
ride in an approved child safety seat. 

Children aged 8 to 18 years must 
ride in an appropriate child restraint 
or seat belt. 

There are a few exemptions to the 
law. Contact the Highway Safety 
Office for more information. 

 This primary enforcement law 
means a person may be 
stopped and issued a citation 
for simply not buckling up. 
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Ejection and Restraint 
Use (Utah 2009) 

78% of crash occupants 
fully ejected from a motor 
vehicle were unrestrained. 
Unrestrained occupants 
were 70 times more likely 
to be fully ejected than 
restrained occupants. 
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In 2008, a law was passed 
increasing the age of child 
safety seat use from up to age 
4 years to up to age 8 years. 
In 2009, booster seat use 
among ages 4-7 years in 
crashes increased to 51%. 
Booster seat use increased 
45% since passage of the law. 

Effectiveness of Booster Seat 
Law (Utah 2004-2009) 




