
2009 Utah Crash Facts 

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2009) 
All Teenage Driver Crashes  Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Followed Too Closely (19%)  1. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (36%) 
2. Failed to Yield Right of Way (17%) 2. Ran Off Road (31%) 
3. Speed Too Fast (14%)   3. Speed Too Fast (26%) 
4. Driver Distraction (10%)   4. Failed to Yield Right of Way (15%) 
5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (8%) 4. Overcorrected (15%) 

Did you know in 2009: 

Teenage drivers represented 7% of the 
licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were in 
nearly one-fourth (22%) of all motor vehicle crashes. 

Teenage drivers were in 11,034 motor vehicle crashes 
which resulted in 5,480 injured persons and 47 deaths. 

Teenage drivers were 2.2 times more likely to be in a crash than drivers of other ages. 

Although teen drivers have the highest crash rates of any drivers, teen driver crashes have 
decreased the last ten years. 

Teenage Drivers         
 (15-19 years) 
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Teenage Driver Crashes by Travel Speed 
(Utah 2009) 

Crashes involving teenage driver vehicles 
traveling 50 MPH or higher were 8.9 times 
more likely to be fatal. 

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

70

80

90

100

110

1
6

1
7

1
8

1
9

2
0
-2

9

3
0
-3

9

4
0
-4

9

5
0
-5

9

6
0
-6

9

7
0
-7

9

8
0
+

C
ra

s
h

 R
a
te

 p
e
r 

L
ic

e
n

s
e
d

 D
ri

v
e
r

Driver Age (Years)

Total Crashes per 
1,000 Drivers

Fatal Crashes per 
100,000 Drivers

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age 
(Utah 2009) 

Drivers aged 16 years had the highest total 
crash rate per licensed driver. 
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Restraint Use of Teen Drivers and 
Their Passengers (Utah 2009) 

46% of  teen drivers and their passengers killed in crashes 
were unrestrained. 
Unrestrained teen drivers and their passengers were 17 times 
more likely than restrained occupants to be killed in a crash. 

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) 
Law in Utah 

 

GDL allows beginning drivers the 
chance to build experience before they 
are exposed to more high-risk 
situations, such as carrying teen 
passengers and nighttime driving. 
Easing young drivers onto the 
roadways can reduce the number of 
traffic crashes involving young drivers. 
 

Learner Permit 
A person must be at least 15 years old 
to apply for a learner permit. Anyone 
who is under 18 years of age is 
required to hold a learner permit for six 
months before applying for a license. 
 

Supervised Driving 
Everyone under 18 years of age 
applying for a license must complete 
40 hours of driving, of which at least 10 
hours must be during night hours. This 
allows beginning drivers to practice and 
gain supervised experience. 
 

Driver License 
A person must be at least 16 years of 
age to get a driver license. Everyone 
who has never been licensed to drive a 
motor vehicle must complete an 
approved driver education course. 
 

Night-time Restrictions 
Anyone under the age of 17 years may 
not drive from midnight to 5:00 a.m. 
except in a limited number of 
situations. The majority of fatal teen 
crashes take place at night. 
 

Passenger Restrictions 
For the first six months of licensure, 
teen drivers can not drive with any 
passenger who is not an immediate 
family member with a few exceptions. 
Teen drivers are more likely to crash 
with passengers in the car, especially 
teen passengers. The more 
passengers, the greater the risk. 
 

Seat Belt Restrictions 
All occupants under the age of 19 
years must be properly restrained in a 
motor vehicle. This is a primary law 
which means a person may be stopped 
by law enforcement solely for that 
offense. 
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Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours     
(2:00 p.m.-6:59 p.m.).  

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2009) 
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Total Crash Trend

Fatal Crash Trend

The teenage driver crash rate per licensed driver decreased 
44% from 2000 to 2008. 

Teenage Driver Crash Trend (Utah 2000-2009) 




