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2007 Utah Crash Facts 

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2007) 
All Teenage Driver Crashes  Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Followed Too Closely (20%)  1. Speed Too Fast (43%) 
2. Failed to Yield Right of Way (16%) 2. Reckless/Aggressive Driving (30%) 
3. Speed Too Fast (12%)   3. Asleep/Fatigue (17%) 
4. Driver Distraction (10%)   4. Driving Under the Influence (11%) 
5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (6%) 5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (9%) 
      5. Wrong Side/Wrong Way (9%) 

Did you know in 2007: 
• Teenage drivers represented 7% of 

the licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were in 
one-quarter (24%) of all motor vehicle crashes. 

• Teenage drivers were in 14,844 motor vehicle 
crashes which resulted in 7,405 injured persons and 51 deaths. 

• Nearly one out of five (18%) fatal crashes in Utah involved a teenage driver. 
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Teenage Drivers         
 (15-19 years) 

Teenage Driver Crash Rates per Licensed 
Driver (Utah 1999-2007) 

• The teen driver total crash rate per licensed 
driver increased 11% in 2007 from 2006. 
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• Drivers aged 16 years had the highest 
total crash rate per licensed driver. 

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age 
(Utah 2007) 
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Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law in Utah 
GDL allows beginning drivers the chance to build experience before they are exposed to more high-
risk situations, such as carrying teen passengers and nighttime driving. Easing young drivers onto the 
roadways can reduce the number of traffic crashes involving young drivers. 
 

Learner Permit 
A person must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner permit. An applicant who is under 18 
years of age is required to hold a learner permit for six months before applying for a license. 
 

Supervised Driving 
All individuals under 18 years of age applying for a license must complete 40 hours of driving, of 
which at least 10 hours must be during night hours. This allows beginning drivers to practice and gain 
supervised experience. 
 

Driver License 
A person must be at least 16 years of age to get a driver license. All individuals who have never been 
licensed to drive a motor vehicle must complete an approved driver education course. 
 

Night-time Restrictions 
Anyone under the age of 17 years may not drive from midnight to 5:00 a.m. except in a limited 
number of situations. The majority of fatal teen crashes take place at night. 
 

Passenger Restrictions 
For the first six months of licensure, teen drivers can not drive with any passenger who is not an 
immediate family member with a few exceptions. Teen drivers are more likely to crash with 
passengers in the car, especially teen passengers. The more passengers, the greater the risk. 
 

Seatbelt Restrictions 
All occupants under the age of 19 years must be properly restrained in a motor vehicle. This is a 
primary law which means a person may be stopped by law enforcement solely for that offense. 

Teenage Drivers         
 (15-19 years) 
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Seatbelt Use of Teen Drivers and 
Their Passengers (Utah 2007) 

• 50% of  teen drivers and their passengers 
killed in crashes were unbelted. 

• Teen drivers and their passengers that 
were unbelted were 16 times more likely 
than belted occupants to be killed in a 
crash. 

• Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-
school hours (2:00 p.m.-6:59 p.m.).  

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2007) 

Number of Occupants in 
Teen-Driven Vehicles (Utah 2007) 

Crashes where the teen-driven vehicle 
contained four or more occupants were 4.1 
times more likely to be fatal than crashes 
involving vehicles with fewer occupants. 




