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IT°'S ABOUT SAVING LIVES

Seat belts are the single

most effective

traffic safety device for
preventing death and injury.

Seat belts help the driver

S EVALR G
driver seat

to maintain control

Seat belts

reduce the risk

of injury or death by 50%
when used properly.

of the vehicle.

UTAH PRIMARY SEAT BELT LAW

Violation of Law First Offense

Second Offense

Driver Written warning to driver Citation may be issued to driver
Passenger(s) Ages 16 Written warning to Citation may be issued to passenger(s)
and Older passenger(s)

Passenger Ages 8 to 15 Written warning to driver

Citation may be issued to driver

Passenger Under 8 without

Written warning to driver
Booster/Car Seat

Citation may be issued to driver

Penalty Written warning

Maximum fine: $45 Non-moving violation, no points assessed

Exceptions

to be in a child restraint

Pre-July 1966 vehicles without seat belts

Written verification from a licensed physician

All other seat belt positions are occupied

Only applies to seating position required to have seat belts

Children under 8 who are 57 inches tall or taller are exempt from the requirement

Seat Belt Safety
Course

Fine is waived upon completion of an online 30-minute seat belt safety course.
Contact the Utah Safety Council at 801-746-SAFE (7233), toll free 800-933-5943
or online at utahsafetycouncil.org.

WHAT ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES

NEED TO

KNOW

WHAT’S CHANGED?

All seat belt violations became a primary offense
for all ages. Enforcement action on a first offense
is restricted to a written warning.

WHEN CAN AN OFFICER WRITE

A CITATION?

A seat belt citation can be issued when the
individual breaking the law has previously been
issued a written warning for the same violation.

HOW ARE SEAT BELT WARNINGS

BEING TRACKED?

Written seat belt warnings will be tracked in UCJIS,
using the driver license inquiry screen accessed by
the officer or dispatch. Warnings must be submitted
electronically to the State.

CAN AN OFFICER ISSUE A CITATION FOR

A SEAT BELT VIOLATION IF THE INDIVIDUAL

IS STOPPED FOR A DIFFERENT OFFENSE?

Only after the first written warning is issued can

a citation be given regardless of whether or not a
motorist is stopped for a different offense. A verbal
warning is not enough. A written electronic warning
is required for tracking purposes.

CAN | ISSUE A CITATION ON THE FIRST OFFENSE FOR
UNRESTRAINED PASSENGERS UNDER THE

AGE OF 19?

No. The current law requires that warnings be issued for
all passengers on the first offense, including children.

CAN YOU CITE AN OUT OF STATE DRIVER?

No. A warning must be issued unless an agency can
show a written warning has been issued and entered
into their RMS system. Warnings issued prior to May 12
do not apply to this requirement. Utah DLD cannot
track warnings for out of State drivers.

ZEerO Fatalities

A Goal We Can All Live With

A UDOT and DPS Program

WHAT IS THE PENALTY FOR

A SEAT BELT CITATION?

The maximum fine is $45. This fine is waived
upon completion of an online 30-minute seat belt
safety course that is available through the Utah
Safety Council at utahsafetycouncil.org. Inquirers
may also call the Council at 801-746-SAFE (7233)
or toll-free 800-933-5943 for more information.

WHEN IS THE LAW IN EFFECT?

May 12, 2015 through July 1, 2018. During these
three years, a warning period will be used to
educate the public about the life-saving benefits
of buckling up. Our goal is to increase seat belt use
throughout the state. Enforcement and education
are critical to making this law permanent.

WHAT CAN LAW ENFORCEMENT DO TO
HELP ENSURE SEAT BELT USE REMAINS

A PRIMARY LAW?

Educate non-users on the benefits of wearing
a seat belt, issue written warnings on the first
offense and provide educational handouts

to violators.

IF A PERSON HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY CITED OR
WARNED FOR A SEAT BELT VIOLATION (PRIOR
TO MAY 12), IS THAT CONSIDERED A WARNING?
Beginning May 12th the law becomes effective as
does the warning period. All previous warnings and
citations are irrelevant to the new law and warnings
must be issued for the first violation.

CE

Everyone. Every Time.



