
Did you know that in 2003. . .  
• Teenage drivers represented 7.7% of the licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were 

involved in over one-quarter (28.1%) of all motor vehicle crashes in Utah. 
• Approximately 1 out of 5 (19.1%) fatal crashes in Utah involved a teenage driver. 
• A teenage-driver crash occurred in Utah every 37 minutes. 

 
Leading Collision Descriptions of Teenage-Driver Crashes, Utah 2003 
 
All Teenage Driver Crashes                        Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Rear End (34.7%)                                      1. Single Vehicle Rollover (36.0%) 
2. Broadside (27.0%)                                     2. Broadside (22.0%) 
3. Side Swipe (5.6%)                                     3. Head-On (14.0%) 

• Overall, most teenage-driver crashes were rear-end (34.7%) or broadside (27.0%) collisions. 
• For fatal teenage-driver crashes, single vehicle rollovers (36.0%) and broadside collisions (22.0%) were 

the leading collision types. 
• Single vehicle rollovers involving teenage drivers were 13 times more likely to be fatal than other collision 

types. 

Top 5 Driving Factors that Contributed to Teenage-Driver Crashes, Utah 2003   
All Teenage Driver Crashes                        Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes 
1. Improper Lookout (25.5%)                         1. Speed Too Fast (26.0%) 
2. Followed Too Closely (15.8%)                   2. Improper Lookout (13.0%) 
3. Failed to Yield Right-of-Way (15.5%)         3. Fatigued or Asleep (11.7%) 
4. Speed Too Fast (12.0%)                            4. Drove Left of Center (10.4%) 
5. Other Improper Driving (8.4%)                   5. Other Improper Driving (7.8%) 

• Overall, “improper lookout” was the leading contributing factor for all teenage-driver crashes (25.5%). 
• “Speed too fast” accounted for more than one-quarter (26.0%) of fatal teenage-driver crashes. 
• Drowsy driving was also a significant contributing factor of fatal teenage-driver crashes.  “Fatigued” or 

“asleep” accounted for 11.7% of fatal teenage-driver crashes. 

SLOW 

• Crashes where the teenage-driven vehicle 
contained four or more occupants were 9 times 
more likely to be fatal than crashes involving 
teenage-driven vehicles with fewer occupants. 

Fatalities Associated with  
Teenage-Driven Vehicles, Utah 2003 
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Seatbelt Use of Occupants Involved in 
Teenage-Driver Crashes, Utah 2003 

• Only 36.8% of occupants killed in teenage-
driver crashes were wearing a seatbelt. 

• Unbelted occupants involved in teenage-driver 
crashes were 27 times more likely to be killed 
in a crash than belted occupants. 



Graduated Driver Licensing Law  
A graduated driver licensing law was enacted to address the concern of teenage driving and crashes.  Graduated licensing 
regulations are in place for new drivers under the age of 18 years and not previously licensed in another state. First-time 
teenage drivers who apply for a drivers license in Utah must complete the following three steps to obtain a license: 
 
Step 1.  Obtain an instruction permit, which allows driving with a certified driving instructor, complete a driver education 
course and pass a written exam.  
Step 2.  After reaching age 15 years 9 months, obtain a practice permit which requires driving with a parent, guardian, or 
licensed over 21-year-old, and complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving (at least 10 hours after dark).  
Step 3.  Complete a driving test (or tests) and obtain a provisional (under 21 years) “D” (passenger vehicle), or 
“M” (passenger vehicle plus motorcycle) license.  The provisional license shows “under 21,“ has a distinctive color, and 
allows a lower threshold of points/citations before sanctioning compared to regular licenses. 
 
Night-time Restrictions 
 
Anyone under the age of 17 years may not drive from midnight to 5:00 am except: 1) with an over-21-year-old licensed 
driver; 2) for employment, or going to or from employment; 3) going to or from a religious or a school activity; 4) in a 
supervised agricultural operation; or 5) in an emergency. 
 
Passenger Restrictions 
 
For the first six months of licensure, teenage drivers can only drive other teens if there is an over-21-year-old driver in the 
front passenger seat of the vehicle.  Teenage drivers can drive themselves or family members without this restriction. 
 
Exceptions:  Teenage drivers can drive teenage occupants to or from school, school activities, church activities, or 
agricultural work if he/she has a signed note from his/her parent or guardian. 
 
Seatbelt Restrictions 
 
All occupants under the age of 19 years must be properly restrained in a motor vehicle.  This is a primary law which means 
a person may be stopped by a law enforcement officer solely for that offense.   
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Time of Day Teenage-Driver Crashes Occurred, Utah 2003 

• Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours (2:00 pm to 6:00 pm).  
• Another small peak occurred when teenage drivers were most likely going to school (7:00 am). 

Counties with the Highest Percentage of Teenage-Driver Crashes, Utah 2003 

 
County 

All  
Crashes 

Teenage  
Drivers 

% Involving  
Teen Drivers 

 
County 

All  
Crashes 

Teenage 
Drivers 

% Involving  
Teen Drivers 

Cache 2,166 753 34.8% Uintah 488 156 32.0% 

Davis 4,047 1,366 33.8% Weber 4,558 1,433 31.4% 

Sanpete 334 113 33.8% Utah 7,336 2,228 30.4% 

Washington 2,103 709 33.7% Statewide 50,389 14,178 28.1% 
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