
2016 Utah Crash Facts 

Wearing a seat belt is one of the 
best ways to decrease injuries and 
deaths in motor vehicle crashes. 

The highest percentage of unrestrained injured 
crash occupants were 10-14 years. 

Unrestrained Injured Crash Occupants 
by Age (Utah 2016) 

Piute, 
Sanpete, and 
Beaver had 
the highest 
percent of 
unrestrained 
occupants in 
crashes. 

Unrestrained Crash Occupants by County 
(Utah 2016) 

Occupant 
 Protection 

Did you know in 2016: 
Unrestrained crash occupants were 24 times more likely to die than restrained injured occupants. 
An estimated 107 lives were saved because of restraint use. (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) 
An estimated 40 additional lives would have been saved if everyone had been wearing seat belts. 
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Occupants in rural crashes were 2.3 times 
more likely to be unrestrained than urban 
occupants. 

Unrestrained Injured Crash Occupants by 
Rural vs. Urban (Utah 2016) 

0%

1%

2%

3%

4%

5%

6%

Age (Years)

0

20

40

60

80

100

Deaths

Year

Unrestrained Occupant Deaths by Year 
(Utah 2007-2016) 

2013 had the lowest number of unrestrained 
occupant deaths over the last 10 years. 
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The older the child the less likely they were using a child safety seat. 
While 93% of 1-year-olds in a crash were in a child safety seat, only 

78% of 4-year-olds, 68% of 5-year-olds, 50% of 6-year-olds, and 35% 
of 7-year-olds were in a child safety seat. 

The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8 years is 
concerning and indicates that children are moving to adult-sized seat 
belts too early.  

Percent of Children Aged 0-8 Years in Crashes Using Child Safety 
Seats (Utah 2016) 

Child Safety Seat 
Recommendations: 

Children should ride rear
-facing until at least two 
years of age and 30 
pounds. 

Children should ride 
forward-facing with a 
harness until at least 
four years of age and 40 
pounds, or longer if the 
car seat allows. 

Children who are at least 
four years of age and 40 
pounds can ride in a 
booster seat. Use the 
booster seat until the 
seat belt fits correctly 
and until the child is 4’9”. 

Children under 13 years 
old should ride in the 
back seat. 

Never place a rear-
facing child safety seat 
in the front seat of a 
vehicle with a passenger 
side air bag. 

 
Seat Belt 

Recommendations: 
Always use both the lap 

and shoulder belt. When 
worn properly, the 
shoulder belt should fit 
across the collar bone 
and the lap belt should fit 
low over the hips. 

Never place the shoulder 
strap under the arm or 
behind the back. 

Always buckle up to stay 
safe and set a good 
example.  

 
Safety Restraint Laws: 

Utah law requires all 
motor vehicle occupants 
to wear a seat belt. 

Children age 7 years 
and under 
must ride in an 
approved child 
safety seat. 
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Restraint Use by 
Vehicle Type (Utah 2016) 

Occupants in heavy truck and 
pickup truck were the most 
likely to be unrestrained in a 
crash. 

Restraint Use by Injury Severity 
(Utah 2016) 
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98% of persons who survived a 
crash were restrained compared 
to half (49%) of the persons 
killed. 
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