Utah Department of Public Safety
Highway Safety Office

2011 Utah Crash Facts
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Did you know in 2011:
e Teenage drivers represented 8% of the

. ivers , Teenage Drivers
licensed drivers in Utah, yet they were in 20%
of all motor vehicle crashes. (1 5-19 yearS)

e Teenage drivers were in 10,525 motor vehicle crashes
which resulted in 4,952 injured persons and 32 deaths.

e Teenage drivers were 1.8 times more likely to be in a crash than drivers of other ages.

¢ Although teen drivers have the highest crash rates of any drivers, teen driver crashes have
decreased the last ten years.

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age Teenage Driver Crashes by Travel Speed
(Utah 2011) (Utah 2011)
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Driver Age (Years) « Crashes involving teenage driver vehicles
« Drivers aged 18 years had the highest total traveling 50 MPH or higher were 10.7 times
crash rate per licensed driver. more likely to be fatal.

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver Crashes (Utah 2011)

All Teenage Driver Crashes Fatal Teenage Driver Crashes

1. Followed Too Closely (21%) 1. Ran Off Road (40%)

2. Failed to Yield Right of Way (18%) 2. Speed Too Fast (23%)

3. Speed Too Fast (11%) 3. Driving Under the Influence (20%)
4. Driver Distraction (10%) 3. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (20%

5. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (9%) 3. Swerved or Evasive Action (20%)
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Restraint Use of Teen Drivers and

Their Passengers (Utah 2011) Teenage Drivers 15
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~ @ Restrained (1 5-1 9 yea rS)
S 5% B Unrestrained
o Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL)
2 50% Law in Utah
f=
'g 25% GDL allows beginning drivers the
8 chance to build experience before they
X o | are exposed to more high-risk
Not Injured Injured Killed situations, such as carrying teen
Injury Level passengers and nighttime driving.
Easing young drivers onto the
« 78% of teen drivers and their passengers killed in crashes roadways can reduce the number of
were unrestrained. traffic crashes involving young drivers.
« Unrestrained teen drivers and their passengers were 107 times Learner Permit
more likely than restrained occupants to be killed in a crash. A person must be at least 15 years old

to apply for a learner permit. Anyone
who is under 18 years of age is

Teenage Driver Crash Trend (Utah 2002-2011) [ﬁg:g]esdbtgfgfe'dasgfy?;;efgfjﬁ‘ci;:gesiX

150 P Supervised Driving
¢ * oo el Everyone under 18 years of age
125 \\0’(~ applying for a license must complete

40 hours of driving, of which at least 10
hours must be during night hours. This
allows beginning drivers to practice and
gain supervised experience.

—_

o

o
!

—&— Total Crashesper 1,000 Drivers
—#— Fatal Crashesper 100,000 Drivers
--------- Total Crash Trend =~
""""" Fatal Crash Trend

Driver License

A person must be at least 16 years of
age to get a driver license. Everyone
who has never been licensed to drive a
motor vehicle must complete an

2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 approved driver education course.

Year Night-time Restrictions

. . . Anyone under the age of 17 years may
e The teenage driver crash rate per licensed driver decreased not drive from midnight to 5:00 a.m.

53% from 2002 to 2011. except in a limited number of
situations. The majority of fatal teen
crashes take place at night.

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2011) Passenger Restrictions

For the first six months of licensure,

teen drivers can not drive with any

passenger who is not an immediate

9% - family member with a few exceptions.
\ Teen drivers are more likely to crash
6% /\// with passengers in the car, especially
‘\/‘\’V teen passengers. The more
3% W passengers, the greater the risk.

Seat Belt Restrictions
All occupants under the age of 19
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TOEOoOoOAoERDOOTETOoAacan00Qa0Q years must be properly restrained in a

PrAOTLORXPQ N NOTIOON0P 0 o motor vehicle. This is a primary law
Hour

which means a person may be stopped
by law enforcement solely for that

« Teenage-driver crashes peaked during after-school hours offense

(2:00 p.m.-6:59 p.m.).
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