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e Unrestrained crash occupants were 4 times more likely to be injured in a
crash than restrained crash occupants.

e Also, unrestrained crash occupants were 30 times more likely to die in a
crash than restrained injured occupants.

Wearing a seat belt is one of the
best ways to decrease injuries and
deaths in motor vehicle crashes.

Unrestrained Occupant Deaths by Year Unrestrained Crash Occupants by County
(Utah 2008-2017) (Utah 2017)
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e 2013 had the lowest and 2017 had the highest
number of unrestrained occupant deaths over the
last 10 years.

Unrestrained Injured Crash Occupants by Age
(Utah 2017) e Urban counties had lower percent of unrestrained

occupants in crashes compared to rural counties.
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Restraint Use by Injury Severity Restraint Use by Vehicle Type Child Safety Seat
(Utah 2017) (Utah 2017) Recommendations:

e Children should ride rear facing

100% 5 )
’ 4% until at least two years of age and

M Restrained

90%

M Unrestrained 30 pounds.
80% e Children should ride forward-facing
3% with a harness until at least four
70% years of age and 40 pounds, or

longer if the car seat allows.

e Children who are at least four years
of age and 40 pounds can ride in a
booster seat. Use the booster seat
until the seat belt fits correctly and
until the child is 4°9”.

e Children under 13 years old should
ride in the back seat.

S

=X
=}
X

2%

v
o
xX

% Unrestrained

Restraint U

N
o
x

30% 1%

20%

10%

0% _ e Never place a rear- facing child
0% . _ , e :I:fgllzl F:ff:,f SOV Yan safety seat in the front seat of a
Non-injured Injured Killed . . . .
Persons Vehicle Type vehicle with a passenger side air
bag.
e 99% of persons who survived a crash e Occupants in heavy trucks and
were restrained compared to about pickup trucks were the most likely Seat Belt
half (48%) of the persons killed. to be unrestrained in a crash. Recommendations:
Percent of Children Aged 1-8 Years in crashes Using o Always use both the lap and shoul-
Child safety Seats (Utah 2017) der belt. When worn properly, the
100% shoulder belt should fit across the
2 collar bone and the lap belt should
& 80% fit low over the hips.
1§ o Never place the shoulder strap
4 50% under the arm or behind the back.
5 40% e Always buckle up to stay safe and
= set a good example.
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Age (Years) e Utah law requires all
motor vehicle occupants

e The older the child the less likely they were using a child safety seat. to wear a seat belt.

e While 93% of 1-year-olds in a crash were in a child safety seat, only 80% of 4- e Children age 7 years
year-olds, 67% of 5-year-olds, 48% of 6-year-olds, and 34% of 7-year-olds were and under must ride in
in a child safety seat. an approved child safety

e The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8 years is concerning seat.

and indicates that children are moving to adult-sized seat belts too early.
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