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Teenage Drivers 
(15-19 Years) 

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age            
(Utah 2017) 

Teenage Driver Crashes by Day of Week            
(Utah 2017) 

 Teen driver crashes occurred more often on weekdays.

 In 2017, teenage drivers were involved in 13,154 motor vehicle crashes in
Utah, representing 21% of all crashes.

 Teenage drivers accounted for 8.7% of the licensed drivers in Utah, yet they
were in 21% of all motor vehicle crashes.

Teenage drivers were 1.7 times 
more likely to be in a crash 
than drivers of other ages. 

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver 
Crashes (Utah 2017) 

1. Followed too Closely (25%)
2. Failed to Yield the Right of Way (19%)
3. Speed too Fast for Conditions (13%)
4. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (10%)
5. Improper Turn (5%)

 Out of all age groups, drivers aged 17 and 18 years
had the highest total crash rate per licensed driver.

 After normalizing by
the number of
registered teen
drivers, male and
female teen drivers
were equally likely to
be involved in a crash.

11% of teen driver crashes were also associated 
with distracted driving. The most common       
distraction was cell phone use and passengers. 
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Teenage Drivers 
(15-19 Years) 

Teenage Driver Crash Trends (Utah 2008-2017) 

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law 
in Utah 

GDL allows beginning drivers the chance to build 
experience before they are exposed to more high-
risk situations, such as carrying teen passengers 
and nighttime driving. Easing young drivers onto 
the roadways can reduce the number of traffic 
crashes involving young drivers. 

Learner Permit 
A person must be at least 15 years old to apply for 
a learner permit. Anyone who is under 18 years of 
age is required to hold a learner permit for six 
months before applying for a license. 

Supervised Driving 
Everyone under 18 years of age applying for a  
license must complete 40 hours of driving, of which 
at least 10 hours must be during night hours. This 
allows beginning drivers to practice and gain       
supervised experience. 

Driver License 
A person must be at least 16 years of age to get a 
driver license. Everyone who has never been     
licensed to drive a motor vehicle must complete an 
approved driver education course. 

Night-time Restrictions 
Anyone under the age of 17 years may not drive 
from midnight to 5:00 a.m. except in a limited   
number of situations. The majority of fatal teen 
crashes take place at night. 

Passenger Restrictions 
For the first six months of licensure, teen drivers 
can not drive with any passenger who is not an 
immediate family member with a few exceptions. 
Teen drivers are more likely to crash with     
passengers in the car, especially teen passengers. 
The more passengers, the greater the risk. 

Seat Belt Restrictions 
Utah law requires all motor vehicle occupants to 
wear a seat belt. 

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2008-2017) 

 The teenage driver crash rate per licensed driver decreased 37%
from 2008 to 2017, but it shows a flat trend in the last five years.

 Teenage-driver crashes had the highest frequencies during
after-school hours, between 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.


