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Occupant
Protection

e Unrestrained crash occupants were 3.9 times more likely to be injured in a
crash than restrained crash occupants.

e Also, unrestrained crash occupants were 14 times more likely to die in a
crash than restrained injured occupants.

Wearing a seat belt is one of the
best ways to decrease injuries and
deaths in motor vehicle crashes.

Unrestrained Occupant Deaths by Year Unrestrained Crash Occupants by County
(Utah 2009-2018) (Utah 2018)
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e 2018 had the lowest number of unrestrained
occupant deaths over the last 10 years.

Unrestrained Injured Crash Occupants by Age
(Utah 2018) e Urban counties had lower percent of unrestrained

occupants in crashes compared to rural counties.
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Restraint Use by Injury Severity Restraint Use by Vehicle Type Child Safety Seat
(Utah 2018) (Utah 2018) Recommendations:
o e Children should ride rear facing
100% until at least two years of age and
g W Restrained 30 pounds.
’ B Uryrestrained - e Children should ride forward-facing
80% - with a harness until at least four
70% 2 years of age and 40 pounds, or
. - longer if the car seat allows.
3 o g e Children who are at least four years
% 50% = of age and 40 pounds can ride in a
2 0% 1% booster seat. Use the booster seat
* until the seat belt fits correctly and
30% until the child is 4°9”.
20% 0% J C_)hiIQren under 13 years old should
! & & &0 N ride in the back seat.
1% &g}c \ﬁ’\"\\' OQ/\"Q ° ¥ e Never place a rear- facing child
0% Q,Oe‘v"’ & & safety seat in the front seat of a
Non-injured Injured Killed - vehicle with a passenger side air
ehicle Type
Persons bag_
e 99% of persons who survived a crash e Occupants in heavy trucks and
were restrained comp_ared to about pickup trucks were the most likely Seat Belt
65% of the persons killed. to be unrestrained in a crash. Recommendations:
Percent of Children Aged 1-8 Years in crashes Using o Always use both the lap and shoul-
Child safety Seats (Utah 2018) der belt. When worn properly, the

shoulder belt should fit across the

2 oo collar bone and the lap belt should
i 80% fit low over the hips.
£ o Never place the shoulder strap
- 60% under the arm or behind the back.
§ — e Always buckle up to stay safe and
= set a good example.
% 20% I
% o L Safety Restraint Laws:
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Age (Years) e Utah law requires all
motor vehicle occupants
e The older the child, the less likely they were using a child safety seat. to wear a seat belt.
o While 92% of 1-year-olds in a crash were in a child safety seat, only 78% of e Children age 7 years
4-year-olds, 67% of 5-year-olds, 55% of 6-year-olds, and 33% of 7-year-olds and under must ride in
were in a child Safety seat. an approved child safety
e The decrease in child safety seat use for children aged 4-8 years is concerning seat.

and indicates that children are moving to adult-sized seat belts too early.
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