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Teenage Drivers
(15-19 Years)

¢ In 2018, teenage drivers were involved in 13,205 motor vehicle crashes in
Utah, representing 21% of all crashes.

Teenage drivers were 1.6 times
more likely to be in a crash

e Teenage drivers accounted for 8.9% of the licensed drivers in Utah, yet they than drivers of other ages.

represented 13% of all drivers involved in motor vehicle crashes.

Crash Rates per Licensed Driver by Age Teenage Driver Crashes by Day of Week
(Utah 2018) (Utah 2018)
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Driver Age

Leading Contributing Factors of Teenage Driver

e Out of all age groups, drivers aged 17 and 18 years Crashes (Utah 2017)

had the highest total crash rate per licensed driver. 1. Followed too Closely (25%)

2. Failed to Yield the Right of Way (21%)
3. Speed too Fast for Conditions (11%)

* After normalizing by 4. Failed to Keep in Proper Lane (10%)
the number of 5. Improper Turn (4%)
registered teen
drivers, male and
female teen drivers 9% of teen driver crashes were also associated
were equally likely to with distracted driving. The most common
be involved in a crash. distraction was cell phone use and passengers.
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Teenage Driver Crash Trends (Utah 2009-2018)
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Teenage driver crash rates per licensed driver show a flat trend in
the last five years.

Teenage Driver Crashes by Hour (Utah 2018)
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Teenage-driver crashes had the highest frequencies during
after-school hours, between 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
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Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law
in Utah

GDL allows beginning drivers the chance to build
experience before they are exposed to more high-
risk situations, such as carrying teen passengers
and nighttime driving. Easing young drivers onto
the roadways can reduce the number of traffic
crashes involving young drivers.

Learner Permit

A person must be at least 15 years old to apply for
a learner permit. Anyone who is under 18 years of
age is required to hold a learner permit for six
months before applying for a license.

Supervised Driving

Everyone under 18 years of age applying for a
license must complete 40 hours of driving, of which
at least 10 hours must be during night hours. This
allows beginning drivers to practice and gain
supervised experience.

Driver License

A person must be at least 16 years of age to get a
driver license. Everyone who has never been
licensed to drive a motor vehicle must complete an
approved driver education course.

Night-time Restrictions

Anyone under the age of 17 years may not drive
from midnight to 5:00 a.m. except in a limited
number of situations. The majority of fatal teen
crashes take place at night.

Passenger Restrictions

For the first six months of licensure, teen drivers
can not drive with any passenger who is not an
immediate family member with a few exceptions.
Teen drivers are more likely to crash with
passengers in the car, especially teen passengers.
The more passengers, the greater the risk.

Seat Belt Restrictions
Utah law requires all motor vehicle occupants to
wear a seat belt.
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