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Statistical Note:  Data in this report are current as of October 1, 2020, unless otherwise noted.  Due 

to rounding, data in the tables in this report may not add up exactly to the totals indicated.  
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Arrested for a per se violation (80%) 

Driver had a .05 or greater blood/breath alcohol concentration, or was impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a 
combination of the two to the extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle 

◘ 

Arrested by a municipal law enforcement officer (57%) 

◘ 

Male (72%) 

◘ 

Age 25-36 (37%) 

◘ 

Had a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) between .11-.15 

◘ 

Arrested on the Wasatch Front in Weber, Davis, Salt Lake or 
Utah County (70%) 

◘ 

First-time arrestee (72%) 

◘ 

Convicted of DUI 
(76% in Justice Court; 79% in District Court) 

 

Profile of  a Typical Utah DUI Offender           
in FY 2020 
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DUI in Utah:  CY 2019 / FY 2020 
 

Law Enforcement:  DUI-Related Arrests & Enforcement Activities  
 

 10,532 DUI-related arrests were made in FY 2020, 537 more (+5%) than in FY 2019. 
 

 Despite a slight increase last year, Utah’s DUI-related arrest rate (32.9 per 10,000 
population) has declined steadily over the past 10 years, with a 34% decrease since FY 
2011 (associated with 3,284 fewer arrests in FY 2020 than in FY 2011), even as the 
population has greatly increased in the same time (16% increase in statewide population). 

 

 The majority of arrests occurred along the Wasatch Front, with Salt Lake, Davis, Utah, and 
Weber Counties accounting for 70% of the total. While counties outside the Wasatch Front 
only accounted for 30% of the total, this was disproportionate to their population (25%). 
 

 DUI-related arrests in FY 2020 displayed the following characteristics: 
 

o 72% of arrestees were male (25% female, with 2% unspecified). 
o 37% of arrestees were between 25-36 years of age, followed by 23% 37-48, 14% 

21-24, 14% 49 and older, and 12% under 21. 
o The majority of arrests (57%) were made by city/municipal police departments, with 

the rest split between Utah Highway Patrol (32%) and county sheriff’s offices (11%). 
o Over forty percent (41%) of the arrests did not have a BAC reported, and 11% of 

arrestees refused testing. Of those with a BAC reported, 43% exceeded .15. 
Additionally, 10% fell between .05-.07, an increase over previous years with the first 
full fiscal year under the new statutory level (.05) in effect since January 2019. 

o It was the first DUI-related arrest for 72% of arrestees, with 19% having one prior 
arrest and another 9% having two or more prior arrests for DUI. 

 

 The 12% of arrestees under the age of 21 is up slightly (11% in FY2019), and the 1,306 
total arrests of underage persons is up 19% over 2019 (though in line with FY2017 levels). 

 

 It is still too soon to see any definitive impacts of changing the statutory BAC level to .05, 
though there does appear to be a slight increase in arrests after the implementation date. 
 

 Consistent with previous years, 80% of the arrests were for per se violations where the 
driver had a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit (now .05 as of 
December 30, 2018), or was impaired by alcohol, other drugs, or a combination of the two 
to the extent it was unsafe to operate a vehicle.   

  

o Drug metabolite arrests, which had increased sharply from FY 2014-18 and 
remained stable in FY2019, decreased sharply (-41%) in FY 2020.  

 

 Arrests included 1,981 made during specialized DUI overtime enforcement events such as 
enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI sobriety checkpoints that involved law 
enforcement agencies throughout the state. These overtime shifts have been increasing. 

Executive                                      
Summary  
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DUI and Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities 
 

 The numbers of DUI/alcohol-related crashes, injuries, and fatalities all decreased last 
year, particularly fatalities, after increases in 2018. 

 

o Crashes decreased 2% from CY 2018 to 1,921 in CY 2019; injuries decreased 5% 
to 1,167 in CY 2019; and fatalities dropped 60% to 19 in CY 2019 the lowest 
number in over ten years. 

 

 DUI/drug-related crashes, injuries, and fatalities also all decreased in 2019, particularly 
fatalities, after significant increases on all indicators in the previous ten years. 

 

o Crashes decreased 2% from CY 2018 to 1,039 in CY 2019 (was up 93% 2009-18). 
o Injuries stayed stable at 774 in CY 2019 (773 in CY 2018, was up 75% 2009-18). 
o Drug-positive driver fatalities decreased 31% from CY 2018 to 67 in CY 2019. The 97 

fatalities in CY 2018 had previously represented a 273% increase since 2010. 
 

 The most common drug types found in drug-positive driver fatalities in CY 2019 were 
depressants (e.g., sedatives); marijuana/THC; stimulants (e.g., methamphetamine); and 
opioids (e.g., oxycodone). 

 

Courts:  Adjudications and Sanctions 
 

 In FY 2020, there were 6,568 DUI-related cases disposed by Utah’s Justice Courts.   
 

o 76% resulted in a guilty plea or verdict.  
 

 In FY 2020, there were 2,545 DUI-related cases disposed by the state’s District Courts.   
 

o 79% resulted in a guilty plea or verdict. 
 

 FY 2020 slightly reversed a trend whereby an increasing number and percentage of DUI-
related cases had been handled in the District Courts over the previous ten years. 

 

Courts: Orders for Assessment, Treatment, and Education 
 

 Justice Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder screening 
and assessment in 4,392 cases (88% of guilty), ordered substance use disorder treatment 
in 3,031 cases (61%), and ordered an educational series in 2,982 cases (60%). 

 

 District Court judges ordered offenders to undergo a substance use disorder screening and 
assessment in 1,173 cases (58% of guilty), ordered substance use disorder treatment in 
1,185 cases (59%), and ordered an educational series in 379 cases (19%). 

 

 Treatment orders have generally increased over the past ten years in both courts. 
 

Driver License Control 
 

 5,663 hearings were conducted in FY 2020 to determine if there was sufficient information 
to warrant the suspension or revocation of the individual’s driver license. 

 

o 4,454 (79%) involved at least one of the parties calling in for the hearing. 
o In 2,159 (38%) of the cases, no action could be taken against the driver due to the 

absence of the arresting officer at the hearing or other factors. 
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Purpose of the Report 
 
The 18th Annual DUI Report to the Utah Legislature was prepared in accordance with §41-6a-511 
of the Utah Code. The statute requires the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice to 
prepare an annual report of DUI related data, including the following: 
 

 Data collected by the state courts to allow sentencing and enhancement decisions to       
be made in accordance with violations involving driving under the influence of alcohol 
and/or other drugs; 

 

 Data collected by the justice courts (same DUI related data elements collected by the  
state courts); and 

 

 Any measures for which data are available to evaluate the profile and impacts of DUI 
recidivism and to evaluate the DUI related processes of:  law enforcement; adjudication; 
sanctions; driver license control; and alcohol education, assessment, and treatment. 
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The Utah Legislature establishes policy for dealing with driving under the influence of alcohol and 
other drugs through the passage of bills that are enacted into law. This section summarizes the 
bills passed by the 2019 Utah Legislature and their impact on DUI policy in Utah.  

 
2020 DUI-Related Legislation 

 
H.B. 139 DUI Liability Amendments 
    Representative Steve Eliason      

 This bill criminalizes a person's refusal to submit to a chemical test for alcohol or drugs 
related to suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in certain 
circumstances; provides penalties for a person's refusal to submit to a chemical test 
for alcohol or drugs related to suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs; clarifies that driving under the influence is a strict liability offense; clarifies 
provisions related to driving in the wrong direction while driving under the influence; 
clarifies that the determination whether an individual is in actual physical control of a 
vehicle includes consideration of the totality of the circumstances, and creates a safe 
harbor-provision related to that determination. 

  

1                            
DUI Policy in Utah 
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DUI-Related Arrests 
 

The Utah Department of Public Safety, through its Driver License Division and Highway 
Safety Office, collects information on all DUI-related arrests. In FY 2020, law enforcement 
officers made 10,532 arrests, 537 more (+5%) than in FY 2019.  While Utah’s population has 
continued to grow, the arrest rate for DUI-related offenses has declined steadily, with a nearly 
34% decrease over the past ten years (associated with 3,284 fewer arrests than FY 2011). 
 

Utah DUI-Related Arrest Rates by 
Population, FY 2011 - FY 2020 

Fiscal 
Year 

DUI-
Related 
Arrests 

Population 
as of 
July 1 

DUI-
Related 
Arrest 
Rate* 

2011 13,816 2,775,334 49.8 
2012 13,031 2,814,216 46.3 
2013 12,227 2,853,467 42.8 
2014 10,901 2,897,927 37.6 
2015 10,802 2,937,399 36.7 
2016 10,755 2,982,497 36.0 
2017 10,762 3,042,613 35.3 
2018 10,383 3,103,118 33.5 
2019 9,995 3,161,105 31.6 
2020 10,532 3,205,958 32.9 

 
Source of DUI-Related Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source of Population Data:  U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division (estimates are as of July 1 of calendar year preceding fiscal year) 
*DUI-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 population.  
 

Arrests by County & Region 
 

Consistent with past years, the majority of DUI-related arrests during FY 2020 occurred along the 
Wasatch Front, with Weber, Davis, Salt Lake, and Utah Counties accounting for 70% (7,379) of 
the total. Salt Lake County had the highest number of arrests with 3,990 (38%), while Daggett 
County had the fewest arrests with three (see Table A1 in the Appendix for all 2020 data by 
county, as well as a comparison of arrest percentages to total population). The chart below breaks 
the 2020 arrests down by region of the state.   

 
Note: “Other Wasatch Front” = Davis, Utah, and Weber counties; “Non-Wasatch/Rural” = all other counties outside the Wasatch Front. 

24.8%

29.9%

39.1%

32.2%

36.2%

37.9%

Population

DUI Arrests

Salt Lake CountyOther Wasatch FrontNon-Wasatch/Rural

2                                      
Law Enforcement Activities 

49.8

31.6 32.9

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

DUI-Related Arrest Rates FY2011-20

DUI Arrest Rate*
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The previous figure shows an over-representation of DUI-related arrests outside the Wasatch 
Front (29.9%), relative to the total population in the region (only 24.8% of the total population). 
Additionally, the figure below shows the DUI-related arrest rate trends over time (FY 2011-20) by 
region of the state. Consistent with the previous figure, the highest arrest rates in FY 2020 were 
outside the Wasatch Front (39.7 per 10,000 population), followed by Salt Lake County (34.4), and 
Davis/Utah/Weber counties (27.1). As with the overall rates for Utah seen on the previous page, 
the rates in each region have seen a downward trend over the past ten years. Salt Lake County 
has shown the sharpest decline over ten years, though was also responsible for much of the 
increase in the past year (see Table A2 in the Appendix for all the rate data by county and region). 
 

 
 
Note: “Other Wasatch Front” = Davis, Utah, and Weber counties; “Non-Wasatch/Rural” = all other counties outside the Wasatch Front. 
*DUI-related arrest rate is the number of DUI-related arrests per 10,000 population. 

 
Characteristics of FY 2020 DUI-Related Arrests 
 

The figures on the next page show some characteristics of DUI-related arrests, including: 
 

 Gender: 72% of arrestees were male, while 25% were female (an additional 2% of arrests 
did not have gender specified; see Table A3 in the Appendix). 

 Age: Drivers ages 25-36 accounted for 37% of all arrests, followed by 23% for ages 37-48. 
12% of arrestees were under the legal age of 21 (see p.12 for more on this, and see Table 
A4 for full data). 

 Arresting Agency: 57% of all arrests were made by municipal law enforcement agencies, 
with Utah Highway Patrol responsible for 32% and county sheriffs’ offices responsible for 
11% (see Table A5). 

 Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC): Over forty percent (41%) of the arrests did 
not have a reported BAC, while another 11% refused the BAC test. Of those arrests with 
BAC reported, 43% exceeded .15 (the highest BAC recorded was .47), while 28% fell 
between .11-.15, 14% between .08-.10, 10% between .05-.07, and 6% under .05 (see 
Table A6). Arrests in both categories below .08 increased this year (see p.12). 

 Repeat Offenders: 72% of arrests were for a first offense, 19% had one prior offense, and 
9% were for a third or subsequent offense (see Table A7 for more data by violation type). 

57.3

39.7

38.0

27.1

56.8

34.4

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

DUI-Related Arrest Rates* by Region FY2011-20

Non‐Wasatch/Rural Other Wasatch Front Salt Lake
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 By Month: DUI-related arrests remained consistent throughout FY 2020, with an average 
of 878 arrests per month, though there were slightly more in the period between November 
and February. The highest number of arrests occurred in January (1,020), with the lowest 
number of arrests in April (606; see Table A8). Of note, there appears to be some 
decrease in DUI arrest activity in the spring corresponding with the start of the pandemic.  

 

Gender 

 
Age 

 
Arresting Agency 

 
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC; See Figure A1) 

 
First-Time vs. Repeat Offenders 

 
Month of Arrest 

 
 

72.1% 25.4%

Male Female

12.4% 14.0% 37.1% 22.6% 13.9%

37-48 49+25-3621-2413-20

11.2% 57.1% 31.7%

Highway PatrolCity PoliceSheriff

2.6%
4.6%

20.0% 16.7%
3.8%

11.3% 40.9%

Refused>.25.08-.15.05-.07<.05 .16-.25 Not Reported

72.3% 18.5% 9.2%

3rd +2nd1st Offense

1,010 1,020 1,011
606 701

Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun
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Underage DUI-Related Arrests 
 

As seen on the previous page, 12% of the DUI-related arrests were offenders under the legal 
drinking age of 21. This percentage of the overall arrests is consistent with recent years (see 
Table A4), though the 1,306 total arrests in this category represents an increase of 19% over 
FY 2019, when there were 1,101 underage arrests. 
 

 
 

Early Impacts of Decreasing the Legal BAC Limit to .05 
 

Arrests by BAC Level. Though the data on reported BAC levels discussed above (and in Table 
A6) is not broken down by month like the overall arrests, there was an increase in arrests with a 
BAC below .08. This is particularly the case in the.05-.07 range, where the legal limit was moved 
on December 31, 2018 – 9.7% of arrests were in this range, compared to 7.3% in FY 2019 and 
4.1% in FY 2018. Reported BAC levels in the highest ranges have decreased. It should be noted 
that the data below are only based on arrests where the BAC was reported or obtained (41% had 
no BAC reported and 11% of arrestees refused a BAC test, consistent with previous years).      
 

 

*Note: Specific BAC levels are only generally reported in around half of cases. Data distinguishing <.05 and .05-.07 not available pre-FY2015. 

1,303 

1,046 

1,460 

1,182 

1,339 

1,101 

1,306 

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

Under 21 DUI-Related Arrests FY2010-19

Under 21 Yrs Old

2.4% 4.0%

5.5%4.1%

7.3% 9.7%

16.8%

14.0%
13.0%

14.4%

2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

Lower Range BAC Levels Reported* in 
DUI-Related Arrests FY2015-20

<.05 .05‐.07 .08‐.10
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*Note: Specific BAC levels are only generally reported in around half of cases. Data distinguishing <.05 and .05-.07 not available pre-FY2015. 
 

Analysis of Monthly Arrests Before and After Change. Looking closer at the DUI arrests by month 
before and after the statute change took effect, there is not definitive evidence that it has led to a 
significant increase in arrests. With only a few exceptions before and after, the number of arrests 
per month has been consistently in the range of 750 to 950 from January 2017 to June 2020. The 
average monthly arrest increased slightly from 836 in CY 2018 to 872 in CY 2019, but the 
average for the first half of 2020 dropped back to 851 (with possibly influence from the pandemic). 
 

 
 

 

34.6%
28.4%

27.5%

41.3%

51.0%

42.9%

2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

Higher Range BAC Levels Reported* in 
DUI-Related Arrests FY2015-20

.11‐.15 >.15

994 1,002

723

1,0101,020 1,011

606

701

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

DUI Arrests by Month 2017-20
New DUI Statute Effective 12/31/18 ‐ Gray Lines Pre/Black Lines Post

2017 2018 2019 2020

950

750

897.3
836.3 872.3 850.5

2017 2018 2019 2020*

Average Monthly DUI Arrests (Calendar Year)
* 2020 YTD (through June)
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Arrests by Violation Type 
 

The distribution of DUI-related arrests by type of violation in FY 2020 was similar to previous years 
(see Table A9 in Appendix), with the vast majority (80%) for per se violations.  Per se violations 
occur when the driver has a blood/breath alcohol concentration (BAC) greater than the legal limit 
(.05 as of December 30, 2018), or is impaired by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two to the 
extent it is unsafe to operate a vehicle. 14% of arrests were for refusal to submit to a chemical 
test – under Utah law, drivers are considered to have given consent to tests of breath, blood, 
urine, or oral fluids to determine whether they are driving under the influence of alcohol and/or 
other drugs. Violations of the Not a Drop statute, by persons under the age of 21 who drove with 
any measurable alcohol concentration in their body, accounted for 4% of the arrests (up from 3% 
in FY 2019). It is also illegal to drive with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite of a 
controlled substance in a person’s body – this accounted for 2% of arrests, down from 4% in FY 
2019 and after a significant increase had occurred between FY 2017 and FY 2018 (+49%). 
Arrests of commercial drivers exceeding the .04 limit represented less than 1% of the total.           
 
The figures below show how the distribution of violation types has varied over the past ten years 
(per se violations were left out, as these have not varied much from an average of 81% over this 
period). In recent years, there appears to be a slight increase in arrestees refusing to submit to a 
chemical test, with the 14% the past three years being 10-year highs. Arrests involving a positive 
drug metabolite test and violations of the Not a Drop statute (< 21 years old) have swapped 
places in FY 2020 after following contrasting trend lines in the previous nine years. The second 
figure shows the raw number of arrests for drug metabolite and Not a Drop violations. After more 
than doubling from FY 2014 to FY 2018, drug metabolite arrests in FY 2020 were at their lowest 
point since FY 2016. In contrast, while Not a Drop arrests are still well below the number from ten 
years ago in FY 2011, the 390 arrests for this statute in FY 2020 were the highest since FY 2015. 
 

 
 

10%

14%

1%

4%

2%

5%

3%

4%

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

DUI-Related Arrest Violation Type % FY2011-20

Refusal of Test Drug Metabolite Not a Drop (<21)
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Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
 

DUI Overtime Enforcement Events 
 

The arrests made in SFY 2020/FFY 2020 included those that occurred as a result of specialized 
DUI overtime enforcement events such as enforcement blitzes, saturation patrols, and DUI 
checkpoints. State funding from DUI impound fees collected, as well as federal funding from the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), was used to fund the overtime shifts 
coordinated through the Utah Highway Safety Office. Law enforcement agencies throughout Utah 
participated, including local police agencies, sheriffs’ offices, the Utah Highway Patrol, and 
university police departments. The table below shows the measures associated with these 
specialized DUI overtime enforcement events. The total DUI shifts worked have almost tripled 
(+171%) over a ten year period, with vehicles stopped (+130%) and all other indicators below up 
significantly as a result. 
 

Statewide DUI Overtime Enforcement 
Events 

State- 
Funded 

Federally- 
Funded Totals 

 SFY 2020*  FFY 2020* 

DUI Shifts Worked 4,728 1,189 5,917 
Vehicles Stopped 38,378 10,773 49,151
DUI Arrests** 1,662 319 1,981 
Vehicles Impounded 1,398 271 1,669 
Alcohol-Related Arrests*** 843 273 1,116 
Drug-Related Arrests**** 1,737 448 2,185 
Warrants Served 5,893 180 6,073 
Other Warnings/Citations 40,273 11,369 51,642
Designated Drivers Observed/Documented 406 134 540 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*SFY 2020 = July 1, 2019 – June 30, 2020; FFY 2020 = October 1, 2019 – September 30, 2020 
**Includes 1,139 DUI/alcohol-related, 616 DUI/drug-related, and 226 metabolite arrests 
***Includes open container and underage/youth alcohol violations (e.g., possession, consumption, attempted purchase, 
Not a Drop) 
****Felony and misdemeanor (e.g., drug possession) 

 

185

142

398 379

225

706

294

390

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020

DUI-Related Arrests - Selected Violation Types

Drug Metabolite Not a Drop (<21)
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Each year, the Department of Public Safety’s Highway Safety Office tracks the number of 
crashes, injuries, and fatalities related to DUIs involving both alcohol and drugs (see Tables A10 
and A11 in the Appendix for the full data tables for each). The following three sections will discuss 
each of these separately. 
 

DUI-Related Crashes 
 

Out of a total of 64,595 automobile crashes in 2019 (calendar year), a very small percentage were 
related to either alcohol (3.0%) or drug (1.6%) DUIs. Although both of these make up only a fraction 
of overall crashes in any given year, it is clear from the figure below that the numbers of crashes 
involving each are following different trends over recent years. While there are consistently more 
alcohol-related crashes than drug-related crashes, this gap has closed considerably over the past 
several years. Alcohol-related crashes have been fairly steady over the past four years; on the other 
hand, drug-related crashes have leveled off after a marked increase from 2013-18 (though the 1,039 
crashes in 2019 has still almost doubled over the ten year period since 2010). 
 

 
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Note: DUI/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol; DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs 
and no alcohol. 
 

  

1,723 1,662
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DUI-Related Injuries 
 

The trends for DUI-related injuries are very similar to those seen for crashes. Once again, a 
small percentage of the 26,794 total injured persons involved in automobile crashes in 2019 
(calendar year) were related to either alcohol (4.4%) or drug (2.9%) DUIs, though these 
percentages are somewhat higher than for crashes. Also, while there have consistently been 
more persons injured in alcohol-related crashes per year, these numbers have been mostly 
stable over the past ten years. In contrast, the number of persons injured in drug-related 
crashes has doubled in ten years, closing the gap between the two considerably. There were 
1,167 persons injured in alcohol-related crashes in 2019, down 5% from 2018 (and down 
15% from a recent high in 2014). The 773 persons injured in drug-related crashes in 2019 
was virtually unchanged from 2018. 
 

 
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
 

DUI-Related Fatalities 
 

As seen in the figures on the next page, DUI-related fatalities involving both alcohol and 
drugs were down considerably in 2019 (calendar year). After remaining stable over the past 
five years, the 19 alcohol-related fatalities occurring in 2019 were a 60% decrease from the 
48 that occurred in 2018, and well below the 10-year average of 33 fatalities per year. The 
picture had been much less stable in recent years for DUI-related fatalities involving drugs – 
the 97 drug-positive driver fatalities in 2018 represented an almost fourfold increase from 
2011. In 2019, however, this number dropped 31% to 67 drug-related fatalities. While this is 
still above the 10-year average of 57 fatalities per year, it possibly signals the end of a 
disturbing trend, particularly in the previous four years between 2015-18. 
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Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Note: DUI/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of ≥ .08. DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities 
include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. Drug presence does not imply impairment. 

 
In addition to the decrease in the raw number of both alcohol- and drug-related DUI fatalities, both 
are likewise decreasing as a percentage of the overall number of crash fatalities. Unlike crashes 
and injuries, these DUI-related fatalities do make up a greater percentage of total crash fatalities in 
a given year. Of the 248 total crash fatalities in 2019, 7.7% were alcohol-related (down from 
18.5%) and 27% involved a drug-positive driver fatality (down from 37.3%). As seen in the figure 
below, the percentage of drug-positive driver fatalities had been increasing substantially. 
 

 
 

Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Note: DUI/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of ≥ .08. DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities 
include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. Drug presence does not imply impairment. 
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Drug Positive Driver Test Results in Fatal Crashes – Drug Types 
 

The most common drugs found in drug positive tests in fatal crashes in 2019 were depressants 
(e.g., barbiturates, sedatives; N = 37), marijuana/THC (N = 36), stimulants (e.g., 
methamphetamine, amphetamines, cocaine; N = 23), and opioids/narcotic analgesics (e.g., 
oxycodone, hydrocodone, morphine, heroin, fentanyl; N = 18). The figure below shows the trends 
over the past ten years for these four most common drug types found in positive drug tests of 
drivers in fatal automobile crashes. Both stimulant and opioid positive tests decreased since highs 
in 2017, while positive tests for depressants and marijuana have increased in that same time. 
Marijuana positive tests in 2019 were close to their peak in 2015. It should be noted that a driver 
in a fatal crash can test positive for more than one drug as well as alcohol (when the BAC is 
greater than the legal limit, the fatality would count as an alcohol-related fatality even with a 
positive drug test – there were 86 total combined substance-related fatalities in 2019). See Table 
A12 in the Appendix for the full data related to this topic. 
 

 
Source: Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
Note: DUI/drug-positive driver fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. Drug presence does not imply 
impairment. More than one drug may be present in a positive test result. 
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Adjudications and Sanctions 
 

DUI-related offenses are classified as either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the type of 
offense and whether it is a repeat offense.  
  

 In general, first and second DUI offenses (within 10 years) are classified as Class B 
misdemeanors.   

 A first or second DUI offense (within 10 years) is classified as a Class A misdemeanor if it 
involves bodily injury, a passenger who is under 16 years of age, a passenger under 18 
years of age if the driver is 21 or older, or if the driver was driving in the wrong direction on 
a freeway or controlled-access highway.   

 A DUI offense is classified as a 3rd degree felony if it is a third or subsequent offense 
within 10 years, if it involves serious bodily injury, or if the person has any prior felony DUI 
conviction or automobile homicide conviction. 

 

Utah’s Justice Courts, which are established by municipalities and counties, handle offenses 
classified as Class B misdemeanors, Class C misdemeanors, violations of local ordinances, small 
claims, and infractions committed within their territorial jurisdiction. Justice Court jurisdictions are 
determined by the boundaries of the local government entities (e.g., city or county), which hire the 
judges. On the other hand, District Courts are the state trial courts of general jurisdiction. These 
courts have original jurisdiction to try all civil cases, all criminal felonies, and misdemeanors in 
certain circumstances. DUI offenses classified as Class A misdemeanors and felonies are under 
the jurisdiction of the state’s District Courts.   
 

DUI-Related Cases and Outcomes 
 

Utah courts disposed 9,113 total DUI-related cases in FY 2020, down 18% from FY 2019. Of these 
cases, 6,568 (72%) were handled by Utah’s Justice Courts (down 15% from FY 2019), while 2,545 
(28%) were handled by the state’s District Courts (down 23% from FY 2019; see Table A13). The 
percentage of cases disposed of by Justice Courts increased in FY 2020 after a downward trend. 
 

 
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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Of the 6,568 DUI-related cases disposed by Utah’s Justice Courts during FY 2020, 76% 
resulted in a guilty plea or equivalent verdict. A similar rate was found in the District Courts, 
as 79% of the 2,545 cases disposed resulted in a guilty plea or equivalent verdict. See Table 
A14 in the Appendix for the overall disposition rates by court type, and Tables A15-16 for 
dispositions by county for the Justice Courts and by judicial district for the District Courts. 
 

DUI-Related Sanctions 
 

Additional DUI-related case information collected by the Courts can be found in Table A17 in the 
Appendix.  The data indicate that in FY 2020, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete 
supervised (non-court) probation in 1,649 cases (25% of the total disposed cases), ordered 
electronic monitoring in 390 cases (6%), and ordered ignition interlock devices in 762 cases 
(12%). Additionally, District Court judges ordered offenders to complete supervised (non-court) 
probation in 1,128 cases (44% of the total disposed cases), ordered electronic monitoring in 199 
cases (8%), and ordered ignition interlock devices in 395 cases (16%). 
 

Orders for Screening, Assessment, Treatment, and Education 
 

See Table A18 in the Appendix for full data on substance use disorder screening and 
assessment, substance use disorder treatment, and educational series court orders. 
 

Screening & Assessment 
 

As part of any sentence for a DUI-related offense, Utah law requires offenders to participate 
in a screening and, if indicated by the screening, an assessment. A screening involves 
gathering information that is used to determine if an individual has a problem with alcohol 
and/or other drugs, and if so, whether an in-depth clinical assessment is appropriate. An 
assessment is a collection of detailed information concerning the individual’s alcohol and/or 
other drug use, emotional and physical health, social roles, and other relevant areas of the 
individual’s life. The assessment is used to determine the need for substance use disorder 
treatment.1   
 

In FY 2020, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete substance use disorder 
screening and assessment in 4,392 cases, which was 88% of the cases with a guilty plea or 
verdict. The number of orders was up slightly (+3%) from FY 2019. District Court judges were 
less likely to order screening and assessment, with orders in 1,173 cases (58% of cases with 
a guilty plea or verdict). The total number of District Court orders were down slightly from FY 
2019, but the percentage of guilty cases increased from 49%. Overall, 80% of DUI-related 
cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered to screening and assessment. 
 

Treatment 
 

For a first and second DUI-related offense, the court may order treatment; for a third or 
subsequent offense within 10 years, the court must order substance use disorder treatment.  
“Treatment involves the application of planned procedures to identify and change patterns of 
behavior that are maladaptive, destructive, and/or injurious to health; or to restore appropriate 
levels of physical, psychological and/or social functioning. Offenders assessed as meeting the 

                                                                          

1 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Screening and Assessment for Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Among Adults in 
the Criminal Justice System, Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP) Series, #7. 
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diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder should participate in a treatment program in 
addition to, or in lieu of, the educational course.”2  Treatment should address both alcohol and 
other substance use disorders. The level of treatment needed (e.g., day treatment, outpatient, 
intensive outpatient, residential) is determined by the assessment on the basis of the severity of 
the substance use disorder.   
 

In FY 2020, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete substance use disorder 
treatment in 3,031 cases, which was 61% of the cases with a guilty plea or verdict. The 
number of orders was up slightly from FY 2019, but the percentage showed a more 
significant increase (from 49% in FY 2019). District Court judges were somewhat less likely to 
order treatment, with orders in 1,143 cases (59% of cases with a guilty plea or verdict). The 
number of orders was down from FY 2019 (from 1,418) though the percentage increased 
(from 53%). Overall, 60% of DUI-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered to 
treatment. 
 

As the figure below indicates, orders for substance use disorder treatment have been 
generally increasing over the past ten years, even while DUI arrests have decreased over the 
same period. Justice Court judge orders for treatment have increased 41% since FY 2014 
and 54% over the 10-year period, and District Court judge orders have increased 92% since 
a previous low in FY 2014. 
 

 
Source: Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
Note: Earlier years may not have full participation of the Justice Courts reporting to the CORIS database. 
 

Education 
 

For a first DUI-related offense and for a second offense within 10 years, the sentence must 
include participation in an educational series if the court does not order treatment. The purpose of 
DUI education is to “address any problems or risk factors that appear to be related to use of 
alcohol and other drugs and attempt to help the individual recognize the harmful consequences of 

                                                                          

2 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 
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inappropriate use, with special emphasis placed on the dangers of drinking and driving.”3  Utah 
DUI offenders sentenced to an educational series attend the PRIME For Life® (PFL) program 
developed by the Prevention Research Institute (PRI). “PRIME For Life® is a motivational 
intervention that provides education and strategies for individuals who have experienced problems 
due to high-risk alcohol or drug use. PFL is an interactive experience designed to motivate and 
guide individuals toward making low-risk choices and adopting more accurate beliefs about 
personal risk that will support those low-risk choices. The program provides research-based, low-
risk guidelines and assists participants in making choices to best protect what they value.”4   
 

Not surprisingly, educational series orders were much more common in the Justice Courts. In 
FY 2020, Justice Court judges ordered offenders to complete the educational series in 2,982 
cases, which was 60% of the cases with a guilty plea or verdict. District Court judges only 
ordered the educational series in 379 cases (19% of cases with a guilty plea or verdict). 
Overall, 48% of DUI-related cases with a guilty plea or verdict were ordered the educational 
series. 
 
The DUI Sentencing Matrix on pages 37-39 of this report provides detailed information regarding DUI-
related offense classifications and sanctions. 
 

 

                                                                          

3 Utah Sentencing Commission, DUI Best Sentencing Practices Guidebook, 2003. 

4Stafford, P., Beadnell, B., Rosengren, D.B., Carter-Lunceford, C., & Huynh, H. (2012, April).  PRIME For Life UTAH 2011 
Evaluation Report Executive Summary.  Lexington, KY:  Prevention Research Institute. 
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The Department of Public Safety’s Driver License Division is required to suspend or revoke the 
license of a person who has been convicted or sanctioned for the following: 
 

 Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other drugs 
 Driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body 
 Not a Drop violation (persons under 21 years of age) 
 Refusal to submit to a chemical test 
 Automobile homicide 
 “No-alcohol” conditional license 
 Alcohol restricted driver (ARD) violation  
 Interlock restricted driver (IRD) conviction 

 

Hearing Statistics 
 

A driver arrested for a DUI-related offense may request a license hearing within 10 days, and the 
Driver License Division must schedule the hearing within 30 days. As shown in the table below, 
there were 5,663 requested alcohol hearings held in FY 2020. The Division is unable to take any 
action against a driver if the arresting officer does not appear at the hearing. To improve 
appearance rates, the Division offers a telephonic option whereby officers or offenders can phone 
in for the hearing. In 4,454 (79%) of the cases, at least one of the parties called in for the hearing. 
In 2,159 (38%) of the cases, no action could be taken against the driver due to the absence of the 
arresting officer at the hearing or other factors. 
 
 

 

 

 

 

5                                      
Driver License Control Hearings 

Type of Violation 
Total 

Number of 
Hearings 

Total 
Telephonic 

Hearings Resulting in No Action 

No Officer 
No Action 

Other         
No Action 

Total  
No Action 

Per Se Alcohol/Drug 4,719 3,695 1,271 583 1,854 
Not a Drop (< 21) 150 118 46 17 63 
Refusal of Chemical Test 794 641 176 66 242 
TOTAL 5,663 4,454 1,493 666 2,159 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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APPENDIX: Associated Data Tables 
 

The following tables provide more detailed data for information referenced in this report. 
Note: If you linked to a table from the report, you may return to that page by clicking the link next 
to the table title (e.g., “Return to p.10”). 
 

Table A1. DUI-related Arrests by County and Region in FY 2020, Compared to Population (Return 
to p.9)
 

County 

DUI-Related 
Arrests 
FY 2020 

July 1, 2019        
Utah Population 

Estimates 
Number Percent Number Percent 

Beaver 56 0.5% 6,710 0.2% 
Box Elder 161 1.5% 56,046 1.7% 
Cache 333 3.2% 128,289 4.0% 
Carbon 89 0.9% 20,463 0.6% 
Daggett 3 <0.1% 950 <0.1% 
Duchesne 69 0.7% 19,938 0.6% 
Emery 47 0.5% 10,012 0.3% 
Garfield 19 0.2% 5,051 0.2% 
Grand 86 0.8% 9,754 0.3% 
Iron 205 2.0% 54,839 1.7% 
Juab 126 1.2% 12,017 0.4% 
Kane 28 0.3% 7,886 0.2% 
Millard 93 0.9% 13,188 0.4% 
Morgan 25 0.2% 12,124 0.4% 
Piute 5 0.1% 1,479 <0.1% 
Rich 7 0.1% 2,483 0.1% 
San Juan 114 1.1% 15,308 0.5% 
Sanpete 75 0.7% 30,939 1.0% 
Sevier 80 0.8% 21,620 0.7% 
Summit 220 2.1% 42,145 1.3% 
Tooele 324 3.1% 72.259 2.3% 
Uintah 196 1.9% 35,734 1.1% 
Wasatch 216 2.1% 34,091 1.1% 
Washington 565 5.4% 177,556 5.5% 
Wayne 11 0.1% 2,711 0.1% 
Non-Wasatch/Rural 3,153 29.9% 793,592 24.8% 
Davis 936 8.9% 355,481 11.1% 
Utah 1,705 16.2% 636,235 19.8% 
Weber 748 7.1% 260,213 8.1% 
Other Wasatch Front 3,389 32.2% 1,251,929 39.1% 
Salt Lake 3,990 37.9% 1,160,437 36.2% 

TOTAL 10,532  3,205,958  
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Table A2. DUI-related Arrest Rates* by County and Region, FY 2011-20 (Return to p.10) 
 

County/Region 
Fiscal Year 

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 
Beaver 98.1 90.7 74.4 75.9 100.6 74.0 108.3 115.9 100.3 83.5 
Box Elder 33.0 25.2 28.6 25.6 27.2 35.7 28.2 30.9 28.0 28.7 
Cache 41.4 35.8 33.8 27.3 22.1 26.2 21.6 24.3 18.6 26.0 
Carbon 84.1 54.0 63.0 31.0 29.0 31.3 36.3 47.8 43.4 43.5 
Daggett 160.5 116.6 108.4 35.5 62.7 0.0 9.1 38.9 61.2 31.6 
Duchesne 75.2 81.1 99.6 72.9 55.9 44.6 43.8 50.4 37.6 34.6 
Emery 100.2 53.7 59.0 63.3 51.7 33.8 41.1 46.6 56.9 46.9 
Garfield 44.5 56.3 35.1 33.4 35.8 2.0 38.1 45.3 27.6 37.6 
Grand 97.6 130.9 158.2 99.4 105.0 107.2 74.1 74.4 100.4 88.2 
Iron 55.2 50.9 50.3 56.6 58.2 43.8 39.9 58.2 33.9 37.4 
Juab 111.3 99.8 108.4 71.5 58.2 98.2 96.3 103.1 109.0 104.9
Kane 129.1 86.0 54.9 79.9 68.9 61.7 49.1 44.9 32.4 35.5 
Millard 67.2 73.1 63.4 50.5 55.5 69.6 90.6 99.5 73.8 70.5 
Morgan 45.4 35.2 25.2 17.7 33.0 30.7 24.5 26.1 23.2 20.6 
Piute 32.1 25.9 26.0 19.9 20.2 19.8 6.8 21.1 27.7 33.8 
Rich 17.7 57.1 66.5 65.6 43.6 30.3 21.6 20.9 48.7 28.2 
San Juan 58.3 37.4 52.5 45.4 43.9 39.3 31.4 50.1 64.7 74.5 
Sanpete 22.6 27.7 21.4 22.3 25.6 20.2 26.9 31.0 27.1 24.2 
Sevier 86.0 78.0 53.6 77.2 50.5 31.9 28.2 51.1 38.5 37.0 
Summit 81.8 93.0 67.6 62.1 65.5 56.3 51.9 39.9 57.2 52.2 
Tooele 72.1 83.4 73.4 58.3 63.6 60.8 63.1 53.8 54.9 44.8 
Uintah 111.4 130.3 102.5 69.5 49.9 47.5 36.6 39.5 54.5 54.8 
Wasatch 48.4 49.5 61.1 58.6 71.1 95.7 94.7 63.9 40.3 63.4 
Washington 38.0 56.5 28.0 27.9 32.2 31.1 30.7 33.4 32.0 31.8 
Wayne 43.2 29.2 3.7 3.6 11.0 3.7 3.7 7.4 14.9 40.6 

Non-Wasatch/Rural 57.5 53.7 50.5 43.6 42.9 41.9 40.1 42.2 39.0 39.7 

Davis 44.8 39.5 33.5 25.4 24.8 26.3 26.6 24.8 25.0 26.3 

Utah 30.9 29.1 26.8 27.7 28.5 28.5 26.1 25.8 26.2 26.8 

Weber 45.9 44.8 46.2 42.5 51.4 44.4 42.4 38.8 32.3 28.7 

Other Wasatch Front 38.3 35.5 32.9 30.2 32.3 31.2 29.6 28.2 27.2 27.1 

Salt Lake 57.0 52.6 48.1 41.2 37.2 36.8 38.0 33.2 31.4 34.4 

Statewide TOTAL 50.0 46.3 42.9 37.6 36.7 35.9 35.3 33.5 31.6 32.9 
Source for DUI Arrest Data:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
Source for Population Data:  U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division 
*Arrest Rates are the number of arrests per 10,000 population 
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Table A3. DUI-Related Arrests by Gender (Return to p.10) 
 

DUI-Related Arrests  
by Gender 

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Male 7,465 71.9% 7,112 71.2% 7,598 72.1% 
Female 2,666 25.7% 2,657 26.6% 2,678 25.4% 
Unspecified 252 2.4% 226 2.2% 256 2.4% 
TOTAL 10,383 100.0% 9,995 100.0% 10,532 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Table A4. DUI-Related Arrests by Age (Return to p.10) 
 

DUI-Related Arrests      
by Age 

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Ages 13-20 1,255 12.1% 1,101 11.0% 1,306 12.4% 
Ages 21-24 1,533 14.8% 1,347 13.4% 1,474 14.0% 
Ages 25-36 3,922 37.8% 3,734 37.3% 3,902 37.1% 
Ages 37-48 2,197 21.2% 2,242 22.4% 2,384 22.6% 
Ages 49-84 1,476 14.2% 1,571 15.7% 1,466 13.9% 
TOTAL 10,383 100.0% 9,995 100.0% 10,532 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Table A5. DUI-Related Arrests by Agency Type (Return to p.10) 
 

DUI-Related Arrests 
by Agency Type 

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Sheriffs’ Offices 1,193 11.5% 1,234 12.3% 1,175 11.2% 
City Police/Other 6,140 59.1% 5,692 56.9% 6,016 57.1% 
Highway Patrol 3,050 29.4% 3,069 30.7% 3,341 31.7% 
TOTAL 10,383 100.0% 9,995 100.0% 10,532 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Table A6. DUI-Related Arrests by Blood/Breath Alcohol Concentration (BAC) (Return to p.10) 
 

DUI-Related Arrests       
by BAC 

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

BAC Result Not Reported* 3,971 38.2% 4,106 41.0% 4,302 40.9% 
.00 - .04 138 1.3% 202 2.0% 275 2.6% 
.05 - .07 233 2.2% 370 4.0% 488 4.6% 
.08 - .10 799 7.7% 661 6.6% 726 6.9% 
.11 - .15 1,616 15.6% 1,401 14.0% 1,386 13.2% 
.16 - .20 1,447 13.9% 1,227 12.0% 1,173 11.1% 
.21 - .25 831 8.0% 725 7.0% 591 5.6% 
.26 - .47 626 6.0% 500 5.0% 397 3.8% 

Refused BAC Test 722 6.9% 803 8.0% 1,194 11.3% 
TOTAL 10,383 100.0% 9,995 100.0% 10,532 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
*Arrestee may have submitted to a blood test, but the Driver License Division never received the results, or this was a 
DUI/drug-related arrest and there was no BAC. 
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Table A7. Repeat Offenders by Type of DUI-related Arrest (Return to p.10) 
 

Note: The following table shows repeat offender data by type of DUI-related arrest. Data were calculated by identifying 
arrests that occurred in FY 2020 as a starting point, then counting back ten years to determine previous arrests. Each arrest 
was placed in a column determined by the type of the arrest or violation.   
 

FY 2020 
Arrest 

Type 

Per se 
Alcohol 

(.08)/ 
Drug 

Refusal 
of 

Chemical 
Test 

Not a 
Drop 
(<21) 

Drug 
Metabolite

Commercial 
Driver 
(.04) 

Unknown 
(no box 
marked) 

TOTAL 

Offense Number Percent 

1st 6,114 948 351 191 7 1 7,612 72.3% 
2nd 1,587 318 17 25 1 0 1,948 18.5% 
3rd 521 131 18 8 0 0 678 6.4% 
4th   171 38 3 0 0 0 212 2.0% 
5th 51 10 0 1 0 0 62 0.6% 

6th-10th 16 3 1 0 0 0 20 0.2% 
TOTAL  8,460 1,448 390 225 8 1 10,532 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 
Table A8. DUI-related Arrests by Month (Return to p.11) 
 

DUI-Related Arrests      
by Month 

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

July 1,002 9.6% 805 8.1% 894 8.5% 
August 866 8.3% 830 8.3% 898 8.5% 
September 839 8.1% 871 8.7% 856 8.1% 
October 843 8.1% 830 8.3% 840 8.0% 
November 888 8.6% 810 8.1% 1,010 9.6% 
December 866 8.3% 810 8.1% 931 8.8% 
January 864 8.3% 845 8.4% 1,020 9.7% 
February 803 7.7% 723 7.2% 1,011 9.6% 
March 927 8.9% 866 8.7% 851 8.1% 
April 810 7.8% 871 8.7% 606 5.8% 
May 851 8.2% 867 8.7% 914 8.7% 
June 824 7.9% 867 8.7% 701 6.7% 
TOTAL 10,383 100.0% 9,995 100.0% 10,532 100.0% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 

 

Table A9. Arrests by Violation Type (Return to p.14) 
 

DUI-Related Arrests by 
Violation Type 

FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 Percent 
Change 
FY 19–20 Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Per se Alcohol/Drug 8,228 79.2% 7,890 78.9% 8,460 80.3% +7.2% 
Refusal of Chemical Test 1,429 13.8% 1,406 14.1% 1,448 13.8% +3.0% 
Drug Metabolite 398 3.8% 379 3.8% 225 2.1% -40.6% 
Not a Drop (< 21) 314 3.0% 294 2.9% 390 3.7% +32.7% 
Commercial Driver (.04) 12 0.1% 5 0.1% 8 0.1% +60.0% 
Unknown (no box marked) 2 <0.1% 21 0.2% 1 <0.1% -95.2% 

TOTAL 10,383 100.0% 9,995 100.0% 10,532 100.0%  
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division 
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Table A10. DUI/Alcohol-related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities by Calendar Year (Return to 
p.17) 
 

DUI/Alcohol-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2010-2019 

Calendar 
Year 

Crashes Injuries Fatalities 

Total 
Crashes 

DUI/ 
Alcohol 

Crashes* 

Percent  
DUI/  

Alcohol 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI/  
Alcohol 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI/ 

Alcohol 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

DUI/ 
Alcohol 

Fatalities** 

Percent 
DUI/ 

Alcohol 

2010 49,368 1,723 3.5% 21,675 1,150 5.3% 253 25 9.9% 

2011 52,287 1,662 3.2% 22,325 1,019 4.6% 243 39 16.0%

2012 50,600 1,727 3.4% 22,336 1,043 4.7% 217 20 9.2% 

2013 55,637 1,736 3.1% 22,740 1,073 4.7% 220 23 10.5%

2014 54,036 2,128 3.9% 23,364 1,377 5.9% 256 45 17.6%

2015 60,012 2,021 3.4% 25,332 1,207 4.8% 278 37 13.3%

2016 62,471 1,970 3.2% 26,738 1,220 4.6% 281 36 12.8%

2017 62,855 1,825 2.9% 25,833 1,149 4.4% 273 36 13.2%

2018 64,340 1,968 3.1% 18,141 1,223 6.7% 260 48 18.5%

2019 64,595 1,921 3.0% 26,794 1,167 4.4% 248 19 7.7% 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI/alcohol-related crashes include only those incidents that involved alcohol.  
**DUI/alcohol-related fatalities include only those incidents where at least one of the drivers had a BAC of ≥ .08. 

 
Table A11. DUI/Drug-related Crashes, Injuries, and Fatalities by Calendar Year (Return to p.17) 
 

DUI/Drug-Related Crashes, Injuries and Fatalities in Utah, CY 2010-2019 

Calendar 
Year 

Crashes Injuries Fatalities 

Total 
Crashes 

DUI/Drug-    
Related 

Crashes* 

Percent  
DUI/Drug-   
Related 

Total 
Injured 

Persons 

DUI/Drug- 
Related 
Injured 

Persons 

Percent 
DUI/Drug- 
Related 

Total 
Crash 

Fatalities 

Drug- 
Positive 
Driver 

Fatalities** 

Percent 
Drug- 

Positive 
Related 

2010 49,368 525 1.1% 21,675 382 1.8% 253 26 10.3%

2011 52,287 603 1.1% 22,325 388 1.7% 243 30 12.3%

2012 50,600 548 1.1% 22,336 383 1.7% 217 37 17.1%

2013 55,637 567 1.0% 22,740 393 1.7% 220 45 20.5%

2014 54,036 636 1.2% 23,364 505 2.2% 256 38 14.8%

2015 60,012 701 1.2% 25,332 459 1.8% 278 67 24.1%

2016 62,471 792 1.3% 26,738 513 1.9% 281 72 25.6%

2017 62,855 1,002 1.6% 25,833 732 2.8% 273 88 32.2%

2018 64,340 1,057 1.6% 18,141 774 4.3% 260 97 37.3%

2019 64,595 1,039 1.6% 26,794 773 2.9% 248 67 27.0%
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.  
**DUI/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. 
 
 

Note:  Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment.  For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after 
any impairment that might affect driving has passed.  Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of 
alcohol is well understood, little evidence is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance. 
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Table A12. Drug-positive Driver Test Results in Fatal Crashes by Drug Type & Calendar Year 
(Return to p.20) 
 

Drug Category 
Calendar Year 2009-18 

2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Depressants 5 7 9 12 6 20 33 22 27 37 
Marijuana/THC 7 15 11 10 21 38 26 27 29 36 
Stimulants 5 14 20 26 7 23 22 41 28 23 
Opioids/Narcotics 3 7 7 12 12 14 28 32 16 18 
Hallucinogens 0 0 1 0 0 2 0 0 1 1 
Dissociative Anesthetics 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 
Other Drug 1 2 4 23 7 17 9 2 1 2 
Unknown Type 3 4 5 2 1 0 2 13 11 3 
Source:  Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office 
*DUI/drug-related crashes include only those incidents that involved drugs and no alcohol.  
**DUI/drug-related fatalities include only drivers who tested positive for drugs and had a BAC of < .08. 
 

Note:  Drug presence does not necessarily imply impairment.  For many drug types, drug presence can be detected long after any impairment that 
might affect driving has passed.  Also, whereas the impairment effects for various concentration levels of alcohol is well understood, little evidence 
is available to link concentrations of other drug types to driver performance. 

 
Table A13. DUI-related Cases Disposed by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.21) 
 

 
Table A14. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes by Court Type in FY 2020 (Return to p.22) 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  

Court 
 

FY 2018 
 

FY 2019 FY 2020 
% Change  
FY 19–20

Justice Courts 8,277 7,725 6,568 -15.0% 

District Courts 3,443 3,316 2,545 -23.3% 

Total Cases Disposed 11,720 11,041 9,113 -17.5% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

Court 

Case Disposition Outcome 
 

Guilty 
Equivalent*

 

Not Guilty 
Equivalent* Other 

Justice Courts 4,982 1,514 72 

Percent 75.9% 23.1% 1.1% 

District Courts 2,017 409 119 

Percent 79.3% 16.1% 4.7% 

Total Cases Disposed 6,999 1,923 191 

Percent 76.8% 21.1% 2.1% 
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
Note:  This table does not depict the Justice Courts’ or District Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only 
cases disposed during FY 2020; pending cases were not included. 
* Guilty-Equivalent = Guilty, No Contest, and Plea in Abeyance; Not Guilty Equivalent = Dismissed, Declined 
Prosecution, and Not Guilty; Other = Deceased, Diversion, Transferred, and Remanded.
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Table A15. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes for Justice Courts by County in FY 
2020 (Return to p.22) 
 

 
 
 
County 

FY 2020 Justice Court DUI-Related Outcomes by County 
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Beaver  3 4  21     28 

Box Elder   29  95 2    127 

Cache 2 2 26  119 4  1  154 

Carbon 1 2 13  47 1  1  65 

Daggett     3     4 

Davis 2  73  360 13  3  454 

Duchesne  1 13  11 1  5  31 

Emery 1  6  28   1  37 

Garfield   4  12     16 

Grand  1 7  45 1    55 

Iron   39  92 10  2  143 

Juab  2 24  55 2  7  91 

Kane   6  10 1    17 

Millard     49   3  52 

Morgan   4  18 2    24 

Piute   2  1     3 

Rich     7     8 

Salt Lake 10 4 677  1,763 55 17 22  2,566 

San Juan   11  42 2  2  57 

Sanpete   3  24 7    34 

Sevier   48 2 79 7  9  147 

Summit  2 14  142 9 3 4  174 

Tooele  1 60  166 4 1 7  239 

Uintah   27  68 4 1 4  104 

Utah 4 1 166  617 126 1 10 2 942 

Wasatch  2 31 1 69 12  6  121 

Washington 1 7 42  208 27    286 

Wayne     8     8 

Weber 2 2 39  492 38  3  581 

Totals 23 30 1,371 3 4,651 328 23 90 2 6,568 

Percent 0.4% 0.5% 20.9% - 70.8% 5.0% 0.4% 1.4% -  
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
Note:  This table does not depict the Justice Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only cases disposed during FY 2020; 
pending cases were not included. 
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Table A16. DUI-related Case Disposition Outcomes for District Courts by District in FY 2020 
(Return to p.22) 
 

 
 
 
Judicial 
District 

FY 2020 District Court DUI-Related Outcomes by Judicial District 
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1st   33  136   5 3  178 

2nd 4  54  387 10 1 5 7 2 470 

3rd 3  91 1 525 5 3 6 19 22 674 

4th 3  103  446 56  9 6 39 665 

5th   27  175 3  11 2  219 

6th   15  110 4  4   133 

7th   15  75 3  2   95 

8th   25  79 2  1 3 1 111 

Totals 10 - 363 - 1,933 83 4 43 40 64 2,545 

Percent 0.4% - 14.3% - 76.0% 3.3% 0.2% 1.7% 1.6% 2.5%  
Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
Note:  This table does not depict the District Courts’ actual conviction rate, as it includes only cases disposed during FY 2020; 
pending cases were not included. 

 
Table A17. Sanctions in DUI-related Cases by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.22) 
 

DUI-Related Case Information and Sanctions FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020

Number of Justice Courts Providing Data 118 121 114 
Blood/Breath Alcohol Content (BAC) Known 5,384 4,363 5,198 

Justice Courts 4,462 3,476 4,076 
District Courts 922 887 1,122 

Ignition Interlock Ordered 1,463 1,302 1,157 
Justice Courts 1,053 838 762 
District Courts 410 464 395 

Supervised (Non-Court) Probation 4,005 3,960 2,777 
Justice Courts 2,429 2,172 1,649 
District Courts 1,576 1,788 1,128 

Electronic Monitoring 629 747 589 
Justice Courts 397 458 390 
District Courts 232 289 199 

Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 
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Table A18. Court Orders for Substance Use Disorder Screening and Assessment, Substance 
Use Treatment, and Educational Series by Court Type and Fiscal Year (Return to p.22) 
 

DUI-Related Case Court Orders FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020

Substance Use Disorder Screening & Assessment Ordered 5,731 5,572 5,565 
Justice Courts 4,558 4,271 4,392 
District Courts 1,173 1,301 1,173 

Substance Used Disorder Treatment Ordered 4,436 4,417 4,216 
Justice Courts 3,018 2,985 3,031 
District Courts 1,418 1,432 1,185 

Educational Series Ordered 3,461 3,223 3,361 
Justice Courts 2,985 2,803 2,982 
District Courts 476 420 379 

Source:  Utah Administrative Office of the Courts 

 
 
Figure A1. Blood Alcohol Concentration and Likely Effects on Driving5 (Return to p.11) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                                          

5 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Vitalsigns, Drinking and Driving:  A Threat to Everyone, October 2011.   
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UTAH DUI SENTENCING MATRIX1 (Current as of December 1, 2020) 

Court-Ordered 
Sentencing 

MISDEMEANOR DUI 
 

FELONY DUI FIRST CONVICTION 
SECOND CONVICTION 

WITHIN 10 YEARS 

CLASSIFICATION 
(§41-6a-503) 

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR 
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

● if bodily injury2 
● if passenger is under 16 
● if passenger is under 18 

and driver is 21 or older 
● if driving in the wrong 

direction on a freeway or 
controlled-access highway 

CLASS B MISDEMEANOR 
CLASS A MISDEMEANOR: 
 

● if bodily injury2 
● if passenger under 16 
● if passenger is under 18 

and driver is 21 or older 
● if driving in the wrong direction 

on a freeway or controlled- 
access highway 

THIRD DEGREE FELONY 
 

● if third or subsequent offense 
within 10 years 

● if serious bodily injury2 
● if any prior felony DUI 

conviction or automobile 
homicide1 conviction 

Jail 
(§41-6a-505) 

SHALL order: 
48 consecutive hours OR 
48 hours compensatory 
Service 

SHALL order: 
240 hours (10 days) OR 
120 hours (5 days) AND 
720 consecutive  hours 
(30 days) electronic home 
confinement3 that includes 
substance abuse testing 

SHALL order: 
0-5 year prison term OR 
1,500 hours jail (62.5 days) 

Fine, Surcharge, 
and Court 
Security Fee 
(§41-6a-505) 
(§51-9-401) 

SHALL order: 
$700 minimum fine plus a 
$630 surcharge plus a 
$60 court security fee 

SHALL order: 
$800 minimum fine plus a 
$720 surcharge plus a 
$60 court security fee 

SHALL order: 
$1,500 minimum fine plus a 
$1,350 surcharge plus a 
$53 court security fee, unless 
a 0-5 prison term is imposed 

Screening, 
Assessment, 
Educational 
Series, and 
Treatment 
(§41-6a-505) 

SHALL order: 
● Screening 
● Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
● Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
● Treatment 
● 24-7 sobriety program 

SHALL order: 
● Screening 
● Assessment (if found 

appropriate by screening) 
● Educational series, unless 

treatment is ordered 
MAY order: 
● Treatment 
● 24-7 sobriety program 

SHALL order: 
● Screening 
● Assessment 
● Treatment as appropriate,  
● Supervised probation, unless 

a 0-5 prison term is not 
imposed 

   MAY order: 
  24-7 sobriety program 

Supervised 
Probation4

 

(§41-6a-507) 

MAY order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation 

SHALL order supervised 
probation if 0-5 prison term is not 
imposed 

Ignition 
Interlock5

 

(§41-6a-518) 
(§41-6a-530) 

MAY order: 
● Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
● Interlock if under 21 
● Interlock for an ARD6 violation 

OR describe on the record 
why such order not 
appropriate 

SHALL order: 
● Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
● Interlock if under 21 
● Interlock for an ARDt6  violation 

OR describe on 
the record why such order 
not appropriate 

SHALL order: 
● Ignition interlock 
SHALL order: 
● Interlock if under 21 
● Interlock for an ARD6 

violation OR describe on 
the record why such order 
not appropriate 

High BAC 
(.16 or higher) 
(§41-6a-505) 

SHALL order: 
● Supervised probation 
SHALL order unless described 
on the record why the order(s) 
not appropriate: 
● Treatment and  
One or more of the following: 
● Interlock  
● Ankle attached 

continuous transdermal 
alcohol monitoring device  

● Electronic home 
confinement  

SHALL order: 
● Supervised probation 
SHALL order unless described on 
the record why the order(s) not 
appropriate: 
● Treatment and  
One or more of the following: 
● Interlock  
● Ankle attached continuous 

transdermal alcohol monitoring 
device  

● Electronic home confinement  

SHALL order: 
● Supervised probation if 0-5 

prison term is not imposed 
SHALL order unless described on 
the record why the order(s) not 
appropriate: 
● Treatment and  
One or more of the following: 
● Interlock  
● Ankle attached continuous 

transdermal alcohol monitoring 
device  

● Electronic home confinement  
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Driver License 
Suspension 
(§41-6a-509) 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or two years 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or two years 

Court MAY order additional 90 
days, 120 days, 180 days, one 
year or two years 

 
 

1 The DUI matrix is intended to give an overview of penalties Driving Under the Influence Offenses, Utah Code Title 41, Chaper 6a, Part 5. It is a reference guide for ease of use 
and greater transparency to assist in sentencing individuals convicted or sanctioned pusrsuant to Utah Code Title 41, Chaper 6a, Part 5. The DUI matrix is not a substitute for 
reference to the Utah State Code. It does not constitute legal advice and is not legally binding. It does not create any right or expectation on behalf of an offender or any party 
within the criminal justice system. 

2 A person is guilty of a separate offense for each victim suffering bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death, whether or not the injuries arise from the same episode of driving. 
3 See §41-6a-506 for electronic home confinement provisions. 
4 Supervised probation is also required for all violations of §41-6a-517(14)(a) (driving with any measurable controlled substance or metabolite in the body). 
5 Adoption of the ignition interlock restricted driver (IRD) provision (§41-6a-518.2) does not change the obligation of judges to impose interlock as a condition of probation. 

Note: If a person’s violation of Section 41-6a-502 does not involve alcohol, the requirement to order ignition interlock does not apply. 
6 ARD = Alcohol Restricted Driver. 

 
 

The following statutory provisions also apply to DUI offenders, although they do not require a court order. Failure 
to comply carries additional criminal sanctions.1

Statutory Provisions 
FIRST OFFENSE 

SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT 
OFFENSES WITHIN 10 YEARS 

Driver License Denial, Suspension, or Revocation
Driving Under the 
Influence/ DUI 
Conviction 
(§41-6a-509) 

If 21 or older: 120 days 

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21st 
birthday 

If under 19: Until 21st birthday 
 

If 21 or older: 2 years 

If 19-20: Longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 

If under 19: Until 21st birthday 

Driving with Controlled 
Substance/ Metabolite in 
Body Conviction 
(§41-6a-517) 

If 21 or older: 120 days 

If 19-20: Longer of one year or until 21st 
birthday 

If under 19: Until 21st birthday 

 

If 21 or older: 2 years 

If 19-20: Longer of two years or until 21st 
birthday 
If under 19: Until 21st birthday 

Refusal of Chemical 
Test Conviction 
(§41-6a-520(7)) 
 

If 21 or older: 18 months 
If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21st 
birthday 
 

If 21 or older: 36 months 
If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21st 
birthday 
 

Refusal of Chemical Test 
(§41-6a-521) 

If 21 or older: 18 months 
If under 21: Longer of 2 years or until 21st 
birthday 

If 21 or older: 36 months 
If under 21: Longer of 36 months or until 21st 
birthday 

Per se Arrest 
(§53-3-223) 
≥ .05 BAC, impaired to degree unsafe to 
drive, operating with metabolite of drug in 
system 

If 21 or older: 120 days 
If under 21: 6 months 

If 21 or older: 2 years 
If under 21: Longer of 2 years of until 21st 
birthday 

Not A Drop 
(§53-3-231) 
A person under 21 may not operate a 
vehicle or motorboat with detectable alcohol 
in body 

If under 21: Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, 
but not less than 6 months 

If under 21: Until successful completion of 
substance abuse program recommendation, 
and the longer of 2 years or until 21st birthday 

Failure to Install or Removal 
of Ignition Interlock Device 
(§53-3-1007) 

A person who is an interlock restricted driver (IRD) shall have their driving privilege suspended 
until they have had an interlock device installed in their vehicle. If the interlock device is 
removed prior to the ending date of the interlock restriction period, the driver license shall be re-
suspended until an interlock device is re-installed. This suspension may be imposed in addition 
to other license sanctions listed above. 

Early Licesnse Reinstatement for Drivers Under 21
Driving Under the 
Influence/DUI Conviction  
(§41-6a-509) 
First Conviction 

Court may order shortening of the suspension period after 6 months if the person completes a 
screening; completes an assessment if appropriate; completes an education series or 
substance abuse treatment, as deemed appropriate by the court; has not been convicted of a 
violation of a motor vehicle law during the suspension period; has complied with all terms of 
probation or all court orders if not ordered to probation; and provides a sworn statement to the 
court that the person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period. 
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Driving with Controlled 
Substance/ Metabolite in 
Body Conviction 
(§41-6a-517) 
First Conviction 

Same as above, but sworn statement must include the person has not consumed a controlled 
substance not prescribed by a practitioner during the suspension period. 

Other Sanctions 
IRD – Interlock 
Restricted Driver 
(§41-6a-518.2) 
An “interlock restricted driver” may not 
operate a motor vehicle without an ignition 
interlock. 
Note: If a person’s violation of Section 41-6a- 502 does not 
involve alcohol, or if all offenses are for metabolite convictions 
under Section 41- 6a-517 (no alcohol involved), IRD does not 
apply. 

 18 months IRD for 1st Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Conviction (§41-6a-520(7)) if over 
21; or 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if over 21 or refused blood draw (§41-6a-520(7)) 

 3 years IRD for 1st Driving Without Ignition Interlock Device if IRD (§41-6a-518.2), 
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-520); Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test 
Conviction (§41-6a-520(7)) if over 21; or 1st DUI (§41-6a-502) if under 21or refused 
blood draw if under 21 (§41-6a-520(7)) 

 3 years IRD for a combination of two of the following within 10 years: DUI (§41-6a-502), 
Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Conviction (§41-6a-520(7)); Refusal to Submit to 
Chemical Test (§41-6a-521), Controlled Substance/Metabolite (§41-6a-517), Alcohol-
Related Reckless (§41-6a-512 – only violations prior to July 1, 2008), Impaired Driving 
(§41-6a-502.5), Driving with Controlled Substance/Bodily Injury or Death (§58-37-8(2)(g)), 
or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 

 6 years IRD for Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or 2nd+ offense for refused blood draw (§41-6a-
520(7)) 

 10 years IRD for Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 

ARD – Alcohol 
Restricted Driver  

(§41-6a-529) 
An “alcohol restricted driver” may not 
operate or be in actual physical control of a 
vehicle with any measurable or detectable 
amount of alcohol in the person’s body. 
Note: If Per se is drug only or metabolite, ARD does 

not apply. 

 2 years ARD for 1st DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol/Drug-Related Reckless (§41-6a-512), or 
Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 

 2 years ARD for any Per se offense (§53-3-223) 
 3 years ARD for any driving without an IID if an IRD (§41-6a-518.2) or driving with 

alcohol in body if an ARD (§41-6a-530) offense 
 5 years ARD for 1st Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test Conviction (§41-6a-520(7)), Refusal 

to Submit to Test (§41-6a-521) or Class A misdemeanor DUI (§41-6a-502) 
 10 years ARD for 2nd offense within 10 years,DUI (§41-6a-502), Alcohol/Drug-Related 

Reckless (§41-6a-512), or Impaired Driving (§41-6a-502.5) 
 10 years ARD for 2nd offense of Refusal to Submit to Chemical Test (§41-6a-520(7)) if 

prior suspension for prior refusal within 10 years (41-6a-520(7)) 
 10 years ARD for felony violation of refusal to submit to chemical test 41-6a-520(7)) 
 Lifetime ARD for any Felony DUI (§41-6a-502) or Automobile Homicide (§76-5-207) 

 

1 The following provisions are intended to give an overview of penalties Driving Under the Influence Offenses, Utah Code Title 41, Chaper 6a, Part 5. It is a reference guide 
for ease of use and greater transparency to assist in understanding of sacntions pusrsuant to Utah Code Title 41, Chaper 6a, Part 5. The DUI matrix is not a substitute for 
reference to the Utah State Code. It does not constitute legal advice and is not legally binding. It does not create any right or expectation on behalf of an offender or any 
party within the criminal justice system. 
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