## Utah Department of Public Safety, Highway Safety Office DUI Overtime Enforcement Guidelines

Updated 12/28/2021

This document provides guidance to law enforcement on working DUI overtime enforcement shifts offered by the Utah Highway Safety Office. It is a working document and will be updated as laws change, new information becomes available, and impaired driving behaviors change. Please refer to it regularly.

## Allowed Use:

- Overtime shifts are for 5 hours each. Additional hours will be paid if an officer goes past shift end processing a
   DUI arrest or something impaired driving related. If more than 5 hours are worked, the comments\* section must
   to be used to explain why.
- The target for DUI overtime enforcement are violations highly associated with impaired driving behaviors, i.e.: speed, failure to signal, improper turns, failure to maintain lane, etc. The expectation is for officers to be actively looking for impaired drivers and making contacts with drivers consistently throughout the shift. In cases where the number of contacts is low (six or less), the comments\* section must be used to explain why, even if there is a DUI involved.
- Generally, DUI overtime shifts should be worked during periods when the most impaired driving related crashes
  and fatalities occur. Shifts should be worked when and where the most alcohol or drug-related crashes are
  occurring in your areas.
- Although DUI overtime enforcement is the priority, if an officer gets called away for a <u>non-DUI traffic-related</u> incident, they may be paid for the entire shift as long as they return to DUI enforcement work within 30 minutes. If the <u>non-DUI traffic-related</u> incident lasts longer than 30 minutes, they must end their shift and only submit for the time worked on DUI enforcement. <u>Non-traffic related</u> work cannot be reimbursed.
- DUI supervisory role overtime shifts should be used sparingly and only during approved DUI checkpoints, saturation patrols or blitzes.
- Ops plan required for DUI checkpoints to include problem ID, location, time, date, agencies involved etc.

## Reporting:

- Stats <u>must</u> be filled out for each officer working a shift; if there are no stats, explain completely in the comments\* section.
- All activity reports should be submitted to the UHSO within 21 days of the last day of the enforcement period, with the exception of State and Federal year end deadlines or the activity report may be cancelled and your agency might not be reimbursed.
- For DUI checkpoints, an OT stat form will be completed for each officer who works. To avoid duplicate vehicle reporting, the primary officer who makes first contact with a vehicle, will be the reporting officer and that vehicle will be recorded on their individual stat form.
- Overtime stat forms must be kept for 4 years per federal rules. It is recommended that they be stored electronically in GEARS as this would allow easy access during audits or monitoring. Agencies may scan and upload them into the Activity Reports as the shifts are worked.
- When completing the enforcement overtime report, make sure the employee Time Start and Time End match the number of hours being claimed.

\*Comments should be very clear and describe what took place during the shift, written so that anyone reading them would understand what occurred, regardless if they are law enforcement or otherwise.