Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office Distracted Driving Enforcement Overtime Guidelines *Updated 10/1/2022*

This document provides guidance to law enforcement on working Distracted Driving enforcement shifts offered by the Utah Highway Safety Office. Please refer to guidelines before working enforcement shifts.

Guidelines:

- Overtime Shifts can be <u>4 or 5-hour shifts</u> and must be worked during the planned enforcement dates. If more than 5 hours are worked due to being held over on a traffic-related incident, the comments section must to be used to explain why.
- Time of Day: Please use discretion on time of day and location to ensure an adequate amount of contacts. It is recommended to have two contacts per hour. Generally, Distracted Driver shifts should be worked during periods when the most Distracted Driving accidents and fatalities occur in your area.
- Educating the Public: The purpose of these shifts is to educate the public of the dangers of Distracted Driving. If available, Distracted Driving educational cards will be given to the public during the traffic stop. If not available, officers will inform the public on stats or any pertinent information verbally.
- Violation Codes: Drivers may be cited under the following statutes.
 - 41-6a-1716 Prohibition on using wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle.
 - 41-6a-1715 Careless driving defined and prohibited.

Reporting:

- Stats must be filled out for each officer working a shift; if there are less than <u>2 contacts per hour</u>, an explanation must be given in the comments section.
- All Activity Reports should be submitted to the UHSO within <u>21 days</u> of the last day of the enforcement period.
- Overtime stat forms must be kept for 4 years by the agency per federal rules. It is recommended that they are stored electronically in Gears as this would allow easy access during audits or monitoring. Agencies may scan and upload them into the Activity Reports as the shifts are worked.
- When completing the enforcement overtime report, ensure the employee Time Start and Time End match the number of hours being claimed.