Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office Speed Enforcement Overtime Guidelines Updated 10/1/2022

This document provides guidance to law enforcement on working Speed Enforcement shifts offered by the Utah Highway Safety Office. Please refer to guidelines before working enforcement shifts.

Allowed Use:

- Overtime Shifts can be <u>4 or 5-hour shifts</u> and must be worked during the planned enforcement dates. If more than 5 hours are worked due to being held over on a traffic-related incident, the comments section must to be used to explain why.
- Unless specified, shifts can be worked day or night. Use discretion on time of day and location to
 ensure an adequate amount of contacts. The expectation is for officers to be actively looking for
 drivers speeding and making contacts with drivers consistently throughout the shift. It is
 recommended to have two contacts per hour. In cases where the number of contacts is less, the
 comments section must be used to explain why.
- Although speed overtime enforcement is the priority, if an officer gets called away for a <u>non-speed</u> <u>traffic-related</u> incident, they may be paid for the entire shift as long as they return to speed enforcement work within 30 minutes. If the <u>non-speed traffic-related</u> incident lasts longer than 30 minutes, they must end their shift and only submit for the time worked on speed enforcement. <u>Non-traffic related</u> work cannot be reimbursed.

Reporting:

- <u>Stats must be filled out for each officer working a shift</u>; if there are less than 2 contacts per hour, provide an explanation in the comments section of the enforcement report.
- All Activity Reports should be submitted to the UHSO within 21 days of the last enforcement period.
- <u>Overtime stat forms must be kept for 4 years by the agency per federal rules</u>. It is recommended that they are stored electronically in Gears as this would allow easy access during audits or monitoring. Agencies may scan and upload them into the Activity Reports as the shifts are worked.
- When completing the enforcement overtime report, ensure the employee <u>Time Start and Time End</u> <u>match</u> the number of hours being claimed.