Utah Department of Public Safety Highway Safety Office Seat Belt Enforcement Overtime Guidelines

Updated 08/29/2023

This document provides guidance to law enforcement on working seat belt overtime enforcement shifts offered by the Utah Highway Safety Office. These shifts are to be worked by law enforcement officers who exceed their normal working hours during the pay period and are compensated at the appropriate overtime rate. Please refer to the guidelines regularly and before working enforcement shifts.

Allowed Use:

- Overtime shifts can be 4 or 5 hour shifts and must be worked during the designated Click It or Ticket
 (CIOT) enforcement dates. Additional hours will be paid if an officer goes past shift end while involved
 in tasks directly related to CIOT Enforcement. If more than 5 hours are worked, the comments section
 must be used to explain why.
- Time of Day: Unless specified, shifts can be worked day or night. Use discretion on time of day and location to ensure an adequate amount of contacts can be made during the enforcement shift. It is recommended to have a minimum of 2 contacts* per hour.
- Although Seat Belt overtime enforcement is the priority, if an officer gets called away for a non-seat belt traffic-related incident, they may be paid for the entire shift as long as they return to Seat Belt enforcement work within 30 minutes. However, if the non-seat belt traffic-related incident or multiple incidents exceed a cumulative duration of 30 minutes, they must end their shift and only submit for the time worked on Seat Belt enforcement. Non-traffic-related work cannot be reimbursed.
- **Zero tolerance** for unrestrained motorists. Citations are highly encouraged for violators of Utah's primary seat belt law.
- Individual Violation Codes: Three separate and distinct code violations are now included in the statute. Each distinguishes the violation type and is important to know and use for the specific violation observed. When there are multiple violations, a driver can only be issued one citation or warning. The only exception would be a passenger 16 years old or older can receive their own citation or warning for failure to wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt.
 - o 41-6a-1803(1)(a)(i) FAILURE TO WEAR SEAT BELT OR PROPERLY ADJUST SAFETY BELT (Driver or passenger 16 years old or older)
 - O 41-6a-1803(1)(a)(ii) FAILURE TO PROVIDE CHILD RESTRAINT DEVICE FOR CHILD< 8 YEARS (Child restraint for passenger under 8 - driver responsible) The fine waiver for completing an online course has been removed. The statute now provides a waiver for proof of purchase, acquisition, or rental of a child restraint device ONLY when the driver was cited for failure to secure a child less than 8 years old under subsection 41-6a 1803(a)(ii). A driver may only have the fine waived under this provision once, and not for subsequent violations. Issuing citations under the proper code of the statute is required to allow for proper enforcement.
 - o 41-6a-1803(1)(a)(iii) FAILURE TO SECURE SEAT BELT FOR CHILD 8-16 YEARS (Seat belt for passenger 8 years to 16 years driver responsible)

Reporting:

- Stats must be filled out for each officer working a shift; *if there are less than 2 contacts per hour, provide an explanation in the comments section of the enforcement report. Documenting the citation, case, incident number, or plate number in the comment section is recommended.
- All activity reports should be submitted to the UHSO within 21 days of the enforcement period.
- Overtime stat forms must be kept for 4 years per federal rules. It is recommended that they be stored electronically in GEARS as this would allow easy access during audits or monitoring. Agencies may scan and upload them into the Activity Reports as the shifts are worked.
- When completing the enforcement overtime report, confirm that the employee's Time Start and Time End match the number of claimed hours.