Click It or Ticket
- Seat belts are the single most effective traffic safety device for preventing death and injury
- Seat belts help the driver stay in the driver seat to maintain control of the vehicle
- Seat belts reduce the risk of injury or death by 50% when used properly.
The Law: Starting May 12, 2015, wearing a seat belt while driving became a primary law. In other words, law enforcement can stop and educate individuals for driving unbuckled on Utah roads. Prior to H.B. 79, failure to wear a seat belt was a secondary offense.
The Fine: The maximum seat belt fine is $45.
Enforcement’s Goal: Educate and persuade Utahns of the importance of seat belt use to saves lives.
2017 Unbuckled Fatalities: 83 fatalities were not wearing a seat belt.
The 11 percent: Hard Core Non Seat Belt Users
Based on research done by the Utah Highway Safety Office, the following groups are reported to be over-represented in unbuckled fatalities.
- Males ages 18-34
- Males 55 +
- Hispanic males 15-24
Proper fit for a seat belt:
- Place the shoulder belt across your clavicle, down the middle of your chest and away from your neck. Adjust the lap belt across your hips below your stomach. NEVER put the shoulder belt behind your back or under your arm. Remember, your hip and shoulder are more equipped to withstand crash forces than other parts of your body. Wearing BOTH your lap and shoulder belt is the best line of defense.
- A properly fitted and installed car seat can save a child’s life in the event of a crash. Learn more at clickit.utah.gov
For more information
Occupant Protection Program Manager
Traffic Safety Marketing Page from NHTSA
Seat Belt Pinterest Page