Frequently Asked Questions
Below you will find Highway Safety’s answers to frequently asked questions. Answers may link you to further information, or you can use our contact form to submit another question. One of our program experts will get back to within 1-3 business days.
How can I get a safety inspection for my vehicle?
Safety inspections are not handled by our office. To schedule an inspection, please contact the Utah Highway Patrol at 801-965-4889 or, you can view their inspection website here.
I would like to have my child’s car seat inspected, where can I find an inspection station?
You can find a list of statewide inspection stations here. Or, you can make an appointment with our expert, and visit our office. Call 801-965-4400 to schedule a free inspection at our office.
How can I host a Bike Rodeo at my upcoming event?
The Bicycle Rodeo Program trailer and equipment can be rented from the Highway Safety Office at no charge to the public.
What is Utah’s Seat Belt Law?
All occupants must wear seat belts and children up to age 8 must be properly restrained in a car or booster seat. If you or anyone in your vehicle aren’t properly restrained, you will be issued a $45 citation.
Seat belts save lives. Over the last five years, almost half of all people (45%) who died on Utah’s roads weren’t buckled up.
The Utah State Code regarding seat belt use can be found here: https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title41/Chapter6A/41-6a-S1805.html
What are the rules and laws for Off-Highway Vehicles & ATVs?
Utah’s Off-Highway Vehicle Program outlines the basic responsibilities of OHV riders. Visit the state parks website to learn more.
Can my child ride in the front seat?
Safety advocates recommend that children under the age of 13 should ride properly restrained in the back seat, which is generally the safest place in the vehicle. While some states require this by law, Utah law does not specify where in the car a child is required to ride. The law requires that children who are younger than age eight ride in an appropriate car seat or booster seat. The child should continue to use a booster seat until they are 4’9” tall or until the seat belt fits the child correctly. All rear-facing car seats are prohibited on the front seat of the vehicle if there is a passenger airbag. The only way the rear-facing safety seat can be legally and properly installed on the front seat of a car is to turn off the airbag manually. Some manufacturers prohibit using their products in certain seating positions. If a child younger than age 13 must ride in the front seat, be sure the vehicle seat is pushed back as far as possible, and that the child is appropriately restrained in a car seat, booster seat, or lap-and-shoulder belt. For more information, visit ClickIt.Utah.gov.
Why doesn’t the school bus have seat belts?
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has determined that the best way to protect children on buses is through a concept called “compartmentalization.” Occupant crash protection is provided by a protective envelope of durable, closely-spaced seats that have energy-absorbing seat backs. Riding the bus is the safest way to get to school. School buses are approximately seven times safer than passenger cars or light trucks. School buses are designed to be highly visible and include safety features such as flashing red lights, cross-view mirrors, and stop-sign arms. They also include protective seating, high crush standards, and rollover protection features. Of the national average of 815 fatalities related to school transportation per year, only 2% are related to official school transportation, compared to 22% due to walking/bicycling to or from school, and 75% from riding in a passenger car to and from school. Visit NHTSA’s school bus page for more information.
Is it okay to put the shoulder belt behind me?
The seat belt must be worn correctly and fit appropriately for the child’s height and weight. When the shoulder belt rubs across a child’s neck, the child is too small for a seat belt and should be boosted up so the seat belt fits properly. Some kids find it uncomfortable when the shoulder belt rubs on their neck, so they put it behind their back. When they do this, there isn’t anything to restrain a child’s upper body if they get into a crash. The seat belt should rest low across the child’s hips, not high across their abdomen. If the seat belt is high across a child’s stomach, the forces of the crash transfer to the spine, making the spine become the pivot point instead of the hips. For more information, visit Click.It.utah.gov